H-2888.1

6

7

8

10

11

12

1314

15

1617

18

1920

SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1909

State of Washington 68th Legislature 2024 Regular Session

By House Health Care & Wellness (originally sponsored by Representatives Low, Ramel, Schmidt, Timmons, and Schmick)

- 1 AN ACT Relating to the membership of the pharmacy quality 2 assurance commission; and amending RCW 18.64.001.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 **Sec. 1.** RCW 18.64.001 and 2022 c 240 s 13 are each amended to 5 read as follows:

There shall be a state pharmacy quality assurance commission consisting of ((fifteen)) 15 members, to be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of the senate. ((Ten)) Nine of the members shall be designated as pharmacist members, four of the members shall be designated a public member, ((and)) one member shall be a pharmacy technician, and one member shall either be a pharmacist member or a public member that is an owner, operator, or officer of a pharmacy who is not licensed as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician.

Each pharmacist member shall be a resident of this state, and at the time of his or her appointment shall have been a duly registered pharmacist under the laws of this state for a period of at least five consecutive years immediately preceding his or her appointment and shall at all times during his or her incumbency continue to be a duly licensed pharmacist: PROVIDED, That subject to the availability of qualified candidates the governor shall appoint pharmacist members

p. 1 SHB 1909

representative of the areas of practice and geographically representative of the state of Washington.

1

2

3

4

5

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

1516

((The)) <u>Each</u> public member shall be a resident of this state((- The public member)) and shall be appointed from the public at large((-, but shall)). Except as provided in this section, each public member may not be affiliated with any aspect of pharmacy.

Members of the commission shall hold office for a term of four years, and the terms shall be staggered so that the terms of office of not more than two members will expire simultaneously on the third Monday in January of each year.

No person who has been appointed to and served for two four year terms shall be eligible for appointment to the commission.

Each member shall qualify by taking the usual oath of a state officer, which shall be filed with the secretary of state, and each member shall hold office for the term of his or her appointment and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

In case of the resignation or disqualification of a member, or a vacancy occurring from any cause, the governor shall appoint a successor for the unexpired term.

--- END ---

p. 2 SHB 1909