STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2020

Source HJR 25





Encouraging the President of the United States, the United States Congress, and the Governor of the state to assist the National Park Service in its efforts to ensure long-term access into Denali National Park and Preserve by way of the existing roadway.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS tourism is vital to the economy of the state, and outdoor recreation represents one of the fastest growing, sustainable market sectors in the economy of the United States; and

WHEREAS Denali National Park and Preserve is the crown jewel of tourism in the state and is a centerpiece of the outdoor recreation market of the state; and

WHEREAS over 600,000 people visit Denali National Park and Preserve each year, including residents of the state and visitors from around the world; and

WHEREAS the National Park Service has done an admirable job of ensuring that the only road into Denali National Park and Preserve remains accessible for residents and outside visitors alike; and

WHEREAS environmental challenges affecting the road into Denali National Park and Preserve are expected to exceed the ability of the National Park Service to maintain the

Enrolled HJR 25

current alignment of the road in the future; and

WHEREAS the people of the United States of America and the people of the state have a vested interest in keeping Denali National Park and Preserve accessible for the inspiration and enjoyment of visitors;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages the President of the United States, the United States Congress, and the Governor of the state to assist the National Park Service in its efforts to ensure long-term access into Denali National Park and Preserve by way of the existing roadway.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President of the United States; the Honorable Elaine L. Chao, United States Secretary of Transportation; David Vela, Deputy Director, National Park Service, United States Department of the Interior; the Honorable Mike Dunleavy, Governor of Alaska; the Honorable John MacKinnon, Commissioner, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.