31-LS1634\A

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 29

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES KREISS-TOMKINS, Tarr, Zulkosky, Hopkins, Tuck

Introduced: 2/24/20 Referred: House Special Committee on Tribal Affairs

A RESOLUTION

1 Commemorating the Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

3 WHEREAS Alaska Natives faced systemic discrimination and were denied basic civil 4 rights during the state's territorial days; and 5 WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich, Grand President of the Alaska Native Sisterhood, 6 and her husband, Roy Peratrovich, Grand President of the Alaska Native Brotherhood, 7 successfully petitioned the Alaska Territorial Legislature and the governor to enact the Anti-8 Discrimination Act of 1945; and 9 WHEREAS the Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945 banned discriminatory signage and 10 made it a crime to discriminate based on race in public establishments; and 11 WHEREAS this landmark legislation was the first anti-discrimination law in the 12 United States; and 13 WHEREAS February 16, 2020, marked the 75th anniversary of the Anti-14 Discrimination Act of 1945 being signed into law; 15 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the historical 16 importance of the Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945 as the vanguard of anti-discrimination 1 legislation in the United States; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature commemorates the 75th
anniversary of the Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945.

4 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to Paulette Moreno, Grand President of the

- 5 Alaska Native Sisterhood; Heather Gurko, Grand President of the Alaska Native Brotherhood;
- 6 and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the

7 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.