Second Regular Session Seventy-second General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

REREVISED

This Version Includes All Amendments Adopted in the Second House HOUSE BILL 20-1281

LLS NO. 20-0891.01 Gregg Fraser x4325

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Pelton and Valdez D., Gray, Liston, Neville

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

Hisey, Crowder, Donovan, Gardner, Holbert, Marble, Priola, Rankin, Sonnenberg, Tate

House Committees Transportation & Local Government Senate Committees Local Government

A BILL FOR AN ACT

101 CONCERNING THE SALARY CATEGORIZATION OF LOCALLY ELECTED

102 OFFICERS IN SPECIFIED COUNTIES.

Bill Summary

(Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced and does not reflect any amendments that may be subsequently adopted. If this bill passes third reading in the house of introduction, a bill summary that applies to the reengrossed version of this bill will be available at <u>http://leg.colorado.gov</u>.)

Current law categorizes each county for purposes of establishing the salaries of elected county officials in the county. The statutory salary amounts are adjusted every 2 years for inflation and take effect for terms commencing after any change is made. The bill modifies the categories of 2 counties with the accompanying percentage decrease in salary as follows: Reading Unamended May 28, 2020

2nd

SENATE





- ! Alamosa county changes from category III-A to category III-B (7.7% decrease); and
- ! Yuma county changes from category IV-B to category IV-C (8.3% decrease).

1 Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado: 2 SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 30-2-102, amend 3 (1.5)(a)(III)(A), (1.5)(a)(III)(B), (1.5)(a)(IV)(B), and (1.5)(a)(IV)(C) as4 follows: 5 **30-2-102.** Categorization of counties for fixing salaries of 6 county officers - salary amounts - legislative declaration. (1.5) (a) For 7 the purpose of establishing the salaries of county officers whose terms of 8 office begin on or after January 1, 2016: 9 (III) (A) Category III-A counties consist of the counties of 10 Alamosa, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Gunnison, Moffat, Montrose, Morgan, 11 Park, Rio Blanco, San Miguel, and Teller; 12 (B) Category III-B counties consist of the counties of ALAMOSA, 13 Archuleta, Delta, Gilpin, Grand, and Logan; 14 (IV) (B) Category IV-B counties consist of the counties of Kit 15 Carson, Lake, AND Washington; and Yuma; 16 (C) Category IV-C counties consist of the counties of Huerfano, 17 and Rio Grande, AND YUMA; 18 **SECTION 2.** Act subject to petition - effective date. This act 19 takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the 20 ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly (August 21 5, 2020, if adjournment sine die is on May 6, 2020); except that, if a 22 referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the 23 state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act

within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect
unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in
November 2020 and, in such case, will take effect on the date of the
official declaration of the vote thereon by the governor.