

General Assembly

## Substitute Bill No. 1024

January Session, 2019

## AN ACT CONCERNING A MATCHING GRANT PROGRAM IN REGIONAL TOURISM DISTRICTS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. Section 10-397 of the general statutes is repealed and the
 following is substituted in lieu thereof (*Effective from passage*):

3 (a) There are established three regional tourism districts, each of 4 which shall promote and market districts as regional leisure and 5 business traveler destinations to stimulate economic growth. The 6 districts shall be as follows:

7 (1) The eastern regional district, which shall consist of Ashford, 8 Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Colchester, Columbia, 9 Coventry, East Lyme, Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Hampton, 10 Killingly, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Mansfield, Montville, New 11 London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Plainfield, Pomfret, 12 Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, Sprague, Sterling, Stonington, 13 Thompson, Union, Voluntown, Waterford, Willington, Windham and 14 Woodstock;

(2) The central regional district, which shall consist of Andover,
Avon, Berlin, Bethany, Bloomfield, Bolton, Branford, Canton, Cheshire,
Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Granby, East
Haddam, East Hampton, East Hartford, East Haven, East Windsor,

19 Ellington, Enfield, Essex, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Guilford, 20 Haddam, Hamden, Hartford, Hebron, Killingworth, Madison, 21 Manchester, Marlborough, Meriden, Middlefield, Middletown, 22 Milford, New Britain, New Haven, Newington, North Branford, North 23 Haven, Old Saybrook, Orange, Plainville, Portland, Rocky Hill, 24 Simsbury, Somers, South Windsor, Southington, Stafford, Suffield, 25 Tolland, Vernon, Wallingford, West Hartford, West Haven, 26 Westbrook, Wethersfield, Windsor, Windsor Locks and Woodbridge; 27 and

28 (3) The western regional district, which shall consist of Ansonia, 29 Barkhamsted, Beacon Falls, Bethel, Bethlehem, Bridgeport, 30 Bridgewater, Bristol, Brookfield, Burlington, Canaan, Colebrook, 31 Cornwall, Danbury, Darien, Derby, Easton, Fairfield, Goshen, 32 Greenwich, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Middlebury, 33 Monroe, Morris, Naugatuck, New Fairfield, New Hartford, New 34 Milford, New Canaan, Newtown, Norfolk, North Canaan, Norwalk, 35 Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Redding, Ridgefield, Roxbury, Salisbury, 36 Seymour, Sharon, Shelton, Sherman, Southbury, Stamford, Stratford, 37 Thomaston, Torrington, Trumbull, Warren, Washington, Waterbury, 38 Watertown, Weston, Westport, Wilton, Winchester, Wolcott and 39 Woodbury.

40 (b) Each regional tourism district shall be overseen by a board of 41 directors consisting of one representative from each municipality 42 within the district, appointed by the legislative body of the 43 municipality and, where the legislative body is a town meeting, by the 44 board of selectmen. Any such member of a board of directors shall 45 serve for a term of three years. In addition, the board of directors may 46 appoint up to twenty-one persons representing tourism interests 47 within the district to serve on the board. No board member shall be 48 deemed a state employee for serving on said board. All appointments 49 to the board of directors shall be reported to the Commissioner of 50 Economic and Community Development.

51 (c) The provisions of the Freedom of Information Act, as defined in

52 section 1-200, shall apply to each regional tourism district.

53 (d) Each tourism district shall adopt a charter and bylaws governing54 its operation.

55 (e) Each regional tourism district shall (1) comply with uniform 56 standards for accounting and reporting expenditures that are 57 established by the Department of Economic and Community 58 Development in accordance with section 10-392 and are based on 59 industry accounting standards developed by the International 60 Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus or other national 61 organizations related to tourism, and (2) on or before January first of 62 each year, submit to the department, the Office of Policy and 63 Management and the Office of Fiscal Analysis an independent audit in 64 accordance with the provisions of sections 4-230 to 4-236, inclusive.

65 (f) Each regional tourism district shall solicit and may accept private 66 funds for the promotion of tourism within its towns and cities and 67 shall coordinate its activities with any private nonprofit tourist 68 association within the district and within this state, that promotes 69 tourism industry businesses in this state, in order to foster cooperation 70 in the promotion of such businesses. Any funds received by a regional 71 tourism district may be deposited in the account established in section 72 10-395 or in an account established by such tourism district to receive 73 such funds.

- (g) The central regional district office shall be located within thedepartment.
- (h) The commissioner shall, within available appropriations,distribute tourism funding evenly among the three tourism districts.

(i) Each regional tourism district may establish and administer a
 matching grant program for any tourism industry business, tourism
 destination, or not-for-profit arts and culture organization that has
 received private funds for the marketing of such business, destination,
 organization or regional tourism district. Such grants shall be used for

- 83 the marketing of such business, destination, organization or regional
- 84 <u>tourism district.</u>

This act shall take effect as follows and shall amend the following sections:

Section 1	from passage	10-397

**CE** Joint Favorable Subst.