HB 1397 2018

A bill to be entitled

An act relating to the Hardee County Economic

Development Authority, Hardee County; amending chapter 2004-394, Laws of Florida, as amended; revising membership of the authority; providing that members shall not be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses; providing an effective date.

8

3

4

5

6

7

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

1011

12

Section 1. Section 3 of chapter 2004-394, Laws of Florida, as amended by chapter 2006-349, Laws of Florida, is amended to read:

1314

Section 3. Authority composition; procedures.-

1516

17

(1) The authority shall consist of the five members of the commission nine members serving staggered terms and four members appointed selected in the following manner:

18

19

20

(a) One at-large member appointed by the commission The President of the Hardee County Farm Bureau or the president's designee for an initial term of 3 years;

2122

(b) One member appointed by the governing body of Wauchula

The director of the Agency for Workforce Innovation or its

successor agency or the director's designee for an initial term

of 2 years;

2324

Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

HB 1397 2018

(c) One member appointed by the governing body of Bowling

Green The chairman of Enterprise Florida or its successor agency
or the chairman's designee for an initial term of 2 years; and

- (d) One member appointed by the governing body of Zolfo
  Springs. The chairman of the Florida Phosphate Council or the chairman's designee for an initial term of 3 years;
- (e) The president of the Hardee County Chamber of Commerce or the president's designee for an initial term of 3 years; and
- (f) Four members appointed by the commission. Two of these shall be designated at-large, and of these one shall serve an initial term of 3 years and one shall serve an initial term of 2 years. One of the remaining commission appointments shall be designated Seat 8 and the appointee shall be appointed for an initial term of 2 years; the last commission appointment shall be designated Seat 9 and the appointee shall be appointed for an initial term of 3 years. Persons appointed to Seat 8 and Seat 9 shall be selected from a pool of nominees consisting of two persons designated by the governing body of each municipality in the county. All members except the members designated under paragraphs (b) and (c) must be residents of the county. Initial terms of office begin January 1, 2005.
- (2) The five commissioner members shall serve terms concurrent with their commissioner terms. The four appointed members shall serve 4-year terms and may be reappointed. After completion of the initial term, each appointed member shall

Page 2 of 3

HB 1397 2018

serve a term of 3 years. If a vacancy occurs during the term of an appointed member, the appointing authority shall fill the appointment for the remainder of the term. A member may serve successive terms.

- chair of the commission shall serve as the interim chair for the purpose of calling the first meeting. The members may elect any sitting member of the authority as chair. The members shall elect a chair from their number for a period of 2 years and may elect such other officers as they designate in the written bylaws of the authority. The at-large member designated by the commission for an initial 3 year term shall serve as interim chair for the purpose of calling the first meeting of the authority. A majority of the members constitute a quorum. Each member is entitled to one vote. An action of the authority is not binding unless it is taken at a meeting at which a majority of the members cast their votes in favor. The fiscal year of the authority begins October 1.
- (4) Each member of the authority shall serve without compensation, except that a member who resides outside the county may be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses as provided by general law and as further provided by this act.
  - Section 2. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law.