20 LC 44 1464S

The House Committee on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs offers the following substitute to HB 894:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend Code Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed
- 2 Development Commission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records,
- 3 audit, and bonds, so as to stagger the terms of commission members; to provide for related
- 4 matters; to provide for an effective date; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

5

6	SECTION 1.
7	Code Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed Development
8	Commission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records, audit, and
9	bonds, is amended by revising subsection (b) as follows:
0	"(b) The commission shall be composed of the following 11 members:
1	(1)(A) Two members to be appointed by the Governor, each of whom shall be a
12	licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing
13	of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants;
14	(B) No later than May 31, 2020, the Governor shall appoint two members as provided
15	for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2020, and
16	such members and their successors shall serve terms of four years. The terms of the
17	members appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving
18	as of June 30, 2020, shall terminate on that date;
19	(2)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the
20	production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants,
21	to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor;.
22	(B) No later than May 31, 2020, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint a member as
23	provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1,
24	2020, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the
25	member whose term ends on June 30, 2025, shall serve terms of four years that begin
26	on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as

20 LC 44 1464S

provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2020,

27

28 shall terminate on that date; 29 (3)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the 30 production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, 31 to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; 32 (B) No later than May 31, 2020, the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall 33 appoint a member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2020, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. 34 35 The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2025, shall serve terms of 36 four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the 37 member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving 38 as of June 30, 2020, shall terminate on that date; 39 (4) The Commissioner of Agriculture or his or her designee; (5)(A) Two representatives of the crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plant industry 40 41 or of farm related organizations, one of whom shall be appointed by the Senate 42 Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee, and one of whom shall be appointed by the House Committee on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs. Such representatives shall 43 44 be licensees or shall otherwise have knowledge of the production, conditioning, or 45 marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants. Each committee shall make 46 its appointment with a quorum present and a majority of those present concurring;. 47 (B) No later than May 31, 2021, two members shall be appointed as provided for in 48 subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2021, and such 49 members shall serve a single term of six years. The successors to the two members 50 whose terms end on June 30, 2027, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 51 1 of the year of their appointment. The terms of the members appointed as provided 52 for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June, 30, 2020, shall terminate on that date; 53 54 (6)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, 55 56 to be appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture; 57 (B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Commissioner of Agriculture shall appoint a 58 member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin 59 on July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of four 60 61 years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 62 30, 2020, shall terminate on that date; 63

20 LC 44 1464S

64 The dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia; 65 (8) The associate dean for research of the College of Agricultural and Environmental 66 67 Sciences of the University of Georgia, as a nonvoting member; and (9)(A) An additional nonvoting member who is a crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural 68 69 plant breeder employed by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, appointed by the dean of the College of Agricultural and 70 71 Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, after consultation with the 72 commission. 73 (B) No later than May 31, 2021, the dean of the College of Agricultural and 74 Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia shall appoint a member as 75 provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the 76 77 member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as 78 provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2020, 79 80 shall terminate on that date."

SECTION 2.

This Act shall become effective upon its approval by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval.

SECTION 3.

85 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.