20 LC 44 1503S

The Senate Committee on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs offered the following substitute to HB 894:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

To amend Code Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed

Development Commission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records,

audit,	, and bonds, so as to stagger the terms of commission members; to provide for related
matte	ers; to provide for an effective date; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.
	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:
SECTION 1.	
Code	Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed Development
Com	mission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records, audit, and
bonds	s, is amended by revising subsections (b) and (c) as follows:
"(b)	The commission shall be composed of the following 11 members:
	(1)(A) Two members to be appointed by the Governor, each of whom shall be a
	licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing
(of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants;.
	(B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Governor shall appoint two members as provided
:	for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2021, and
<u>!</u>	such members and their successors shall serve terms of four years. The terms of the
	members appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving
<u> </u>	as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;
	(2)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the
j	production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants,
1	to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor;.
	(B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint a member as
	provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on
<u>:</u>	July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors
1	to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of four years that

begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as

20 LC 44 1503S

provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;

- (3)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- (B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint a member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;
- (4) The Commissioner of Agriculture <u>or his or her designee</u>;
 - (5)(A) Two representatives of the crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plant industry or of farm related organizations, one of whom shall be appointed by the Senate Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee, and one of whom shall be appointed by the House Committee on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs. Such representatives shall be licensees or shall otherwise have knowledge of the production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants. Each committee shall make its appointment with a quorum present and a majority of those present concurring; (B) No later than May 31, 2022, two members shall be appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2022, and such
 - subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2022, and such members shall serve a single term of six years. The successors to the two members whose terms end on June 30, 2028, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The terms of the members appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June, 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;
 - (6)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, to be appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture;
 - (B) No later than May 31, 2022, the Commissioner of Agriculture shall appoint a member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2022, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2027, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;

20 LC 44 1503S

(7) The dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia;

- (8) The associate dean for research of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, as a nonvoting member; and
 - (9)(A) An additional nonvoting member who is a crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plant breeder employed by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, appointed by the dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, after consultation with the commission.
 - (B) No later than May 31, 2022, the dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia shall appoint a member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2022, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2027, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date.
- (c) The members of the commission shall enter upon their duties without further act or formality. The commission shall organize each even-numbered odd-numbered year at the meeting next following July 1 of such year, at which time the commission shall elect one of its members as chairperson and another as vice chairperson. It shall also elect a secretary and a treasurer, who need not be members. The offices of secretary and treasurer may be combined in one person. The commission may make such bylaws for its government as it deems necessary but is under no duty to do so."

SECTION 2.

This Act shall become effective on January 1, 2021.

90 SECTION 3.

All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.