20 HB 894/AP

House Bill 894 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representatives Meeks of the 178<sup>th</sup>, McCall of the 33<sup>rd</sup>, Corbett of the 174<sup>th</sup>, Houston of the 170<sup>th</sup>, Pirkle of the 155<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend Code Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed
- 2 Development Commission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records,
- 3 audit, and bonds, so as to stagger the terms of commission members; to provide for related
- 4 matters; to provide for an effective date; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

5

6	SECTION 1.
7	Code Section 2-4-3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to Seed Development
8	Commission composition, officers, bylaws, quorum, compensation, records, audit, and
9	bonds, is amended by revising subsections (b) and (c) as follows:
0	"(b) The commission shall be composed of the following 11 members:
1	(1)(A) Two members to be appointed by the Governor, each of whom shall be a
12	licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing
13	of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants;.
4	(B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Governor shall appoint two members as provided
15	for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2021, and
6	such members and their successors shall serve terms of four years. The terms of the
17	members appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving
8	as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;
9	(2)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the
20	production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants,
21	to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor;.
22	(B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint a member as
23	provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on
24	July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors
25	to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of four years that
26	begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as

20 HB 894/AP

provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021,

27

28 shall terminate on that date; 29 (3)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the 30 production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, 31 to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; 32 (B) No later than May 31, 2021, the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall 33 appoint a member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on July 1, 2021, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. 34 35 The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2026, shall serve terms of 36 four years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the 37 member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving 38 as of June 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date; 39 (4) The Commissioner of Agriculture or his or her designee; (5)(A) Two representatives of the crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plant industry 40 41 or of farm related organizations, one of whom shall be appointed by the Senate 42 Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee, and one of whom shall be appointed by the House Committee on Agriculture and Consumer Affairs. Such representatives shall 43 44 be licensees or shall otherwise have knowledge of the production, conditioning, or 45 marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants. Each committee shall make 46 its appointment with a quorum present and a majority of those present concurring;. 47 (B) No later than May 31, 2022, two members shall be appointed as provided for in 48 subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose terms shall begin on July 1, 2022, and such 49 members shall serve a single term of six years. The successors to the two members 50 whose terms end on June 30, 2028, shall serve terms of four years that begin on July 51 1 of the year of their appointment. The terms of the members appointed as provided 52 for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June, 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date; 53 54 (6)(A) One member who shall be a licensee or shall be otherwise involved in the production, conditioning, or marketing of crops, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural plants, 55 56 to be appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture; 57 (B) No later than May 31, 2022, the Commissioner of Agriculture shall appoint a 58 member as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin 59 on July 1, 2022, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2027, shall serve terms of four 60 61 years that begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 62 63 30, 2021, shall terminate on that date;

20 HB 894/AP

64 (7) The dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia;

- (8) The associate dean for research of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, as a nonvoting member; and
- 68 (9)(A) An additional nonvoting member who is a crop, seed, turfgrass, or horticultural 69 plant breeder employed by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of 70 the University of Georgia, appointed by the dean of the College of Agricultural and 71 Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia, after consultation with the 72 commission.
- (B) No later than May 31, 2022, the dean of the College of Agricultural and
  Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia shall appoint a member as
  provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph whose term shall begin on
  July 1, 2022, and such member shall serve a single term of five years. The successors
  to the member whose term ends on June 30, 2027, shall serve terms of four years that
  begin on July 1 of the year of their appointment. The term of the member appointed as
  provided for in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and serving as of June 30, 2021,
  - (c) The members of the commission shall enter upon their duties without further act or formality. The commission shall organize each even-numbered odd-numbered year at the meeting next following July 1 of such year, at which time the commission shall elect one of its members as chairperson and another as vice chairperson. It shall also elect a secretary and a treasurer, who need not be members. The offices of secretary and treasurer may be combined in one person. The commission may make such bylaws for its

88 SECTION 2.

shall terminate on that date.

66

67

80

81

82

83

84

85

86

87

89 This Act shall become effective on January 1, 2021.

90 **SECTION 3.** 

91 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

government as it deems necessary but is under no duty to do so."