20 LC 120 0320

House Resolution 1296

By: Representatives Stovall of the 74th, Burnough of the 77th, Scott of the 76th, Alexander of the 66th, and Glanton of the 75th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing March 4, 2020, as Awesome Girls Day at the state capitol and celebrating the
- 2 5th anniversary of the Awesome Girl Awards and Regina Sunshine Robinson Global
- 3 Network's Awesome Girl Day; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, in 2015, Regina Sunshine Robinson set out on a mission, simply to recognize
- 5 girls for their individual talents, gifts, and abilities; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ms. Robinson recognized that although many girls were being honored for their
- 7 athletic and academic achievements, many other girls were making amazing strides as
- 8 authors, inventors, community activists, entrepreneurs, community servants, musicians, and
- 9 other notable professions and were living out their purpose with excellence; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Ms. Robinson created a platform to honor these amazing and gifted girls and,
- for five years, she has partnered with community leaders, entrepreneurs, elected officials, and
- 12 private citizens to create life-changing opportunities for the Awesome Girl honorees; and
- 13 WHEREAS, on this 5th anniversary of the Awesome Girl Awards, the past and current
- 14 recipients of this prestigious award, including recipients of the "I Am An Awesome Girl"
- 15 collaboration book authors, are recognized for their outstanding accomplishments:
- 2015 Awesome Girl Honorees Jascha Coles, Nevaeh Simone McCauley, Kristian
 Munroe, and McKinley Sanders
- 2016 Awesome Girl Honorees Dai Arceneaux, Angelica Blackwell, Alexandria
 Criner, Novembur Hill, and Bria Armani Johnson
- 20 2017 Awesome Girl Honorees Mya Anderson, Sikari Henry, Zaydah Lotallah,
 21 Janae' Madison, Jayel Priester, Kennedy Stewart, and Ashalah Michelle Wright
- 2018 Awesome Girl Honorees Camille Brown, Tania Marie Eubanks, Kaliyah
 Teresia Johnson, Janae Kanu, Lauryn Strong, and Antonia Williams

20 LC 120 0320

24 • 2019 Awesome Girl Honorees - Makayla Coleman, Tionjour Davis, Ziggy and Tootie Quinn, Keaira Reed, Kayleigh Stargell, Milan Waller, Aaliyah Williams, and 25 De'Zyre Williams 26 27 • 2019 "I Am An Awesome Girl" Collaboration Authors - McKinzie Baker, Monroe Love Joyce Banks, Angelica Blackwell, Camille Brown, Sommer Daina Butler, 28 29 Talecia Clark, Jacey Cuffie, Kanuri Elise Fowler-Yikealo, Zoe Patsy Gore, Miranda 30 Greene, Te'Aira Heggler, Janae Kanu, Zaydah Lotallah, Janae' Madison, Jayel Priester, Ziggy and Tootie Quinn, Elisa Christine Saffold, Olivia Elizabeth Stanley, 31 32 Lauryn Strong, Milan Waller, Antonia Williams, De'Zyre Williams, Jasmine Witt,

- 34 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 35 the members of this body recognize March 4, 2020, as Awesome Girls Day at the state
- 36 capitol and commend Regina Sunshine Robinson for her vision in founding a platform to
- 37 honor girls in their pursuit of excellence with her Global Network's Awesome Girl Day; and
- 38 the Awesome Girl Awards are celebrated on their 5th anniversary and wished all the best for
- 39 continued success in the future.

and Ashalah Michelle Wright.

33

- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 41 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to
- 42 Regina Sunshine Robinson.