House Resolution 1372

By: Representatives Buckner of the 137th, Hugley of the 141st, Smith of the 138th, and Reese of the 140th

A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating and commending the Muscogee County School District's 2024 Teachers of

2 the Year; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, a proper quality education for the young people of this state is the single most
important objective of the General Assembly; and

5 WHEREAS, in 1996, a group of committed and devoted citizens organized the Muscogee
6 Educational Excellence Foundation, which strives to enhance the quality of education in

7 Muscogee County by providing support to teachers; and

8 WHEREAS, since its creation, this outstanding foundation has grown into one of the leading
9 advocates of excellence in public education in the county; and

WHEREAS, the following educators are recipients of the foundation's 2024 Teacher of the Year award and are deserving of acknowledgment for their exemplary service to the youth of Muscogee County: TaKesha Willliams-Lynn, Aaron Cohn Middle School; Karie Tillett, Allen Elementary School; James Barnes, Arnold Middle School; Jonas Lonzanida, Baker Middle School; Timothy Downes, Blackmon Road Middle School; Katie Buckley, Blanchard Elementary School; Roger Redden, Brewer Elementary School; Nicole Hodge, Britt David

16 Magnet Academy; Meridith Hemmings, Clubview Elementary School; Lisa Mills, Columbus 17 High School; Stacey Keith, Dawson Elementary School; Brent Sutherland, Dimon 18 Elementary School; Amber Jackson, Dorothy Height Elementary School; Amber Mays, 19 Double Churches Elementary School; Lakia Slater, Double Churches Middle School; Julie 20 Jackson, Downtown Elementary School; Chelsea Pevitt, Eagle Ridge Elementary School; 21 Kewanna Taylor, East Columbus Magnet Academy; Lauren Stanford, Eddy Middle School; 22 Thneashia Crawl, Forrest Road Elementary School; Michelle Atcheson, Fort Middle School; 23 Rachael Weaver, Fox Elementary School; Tamela Ransom, G.W. Carver High School; Tasca 24 Blanding, Gentian Elementary School; Breuna Hill, Georgetown Elementary School; Barbara 25 Madrie-Poindexter, Hannan Elementary Magnet Academy; Joshua Alsup, Hardaway High 26 School; Robyn Robinson, J.D. Davis Elementary School; Crystal Coulter, Johnson Elementary School; Cherine Cobb, Jordan Career Academy; Kelly Coney, Kendrick High 27 28 School; Kimberly Brown, Key Elementary School; Ebony Hill, Lonnie Jackson Academy; 29 Tonya Euell, Marshall Success Center; Jazzlyne Jackson, Martin Luther King, Jr. 30 Elementary; Kyle Allen, Mathews Elementary School; Jocelyn Dial, Midland Academy; 31 Brian Hale, Midland Middle School; Suzanne Tabor, North Columbus Elementary School; 32 Christie Akers, Northside High School; Annette Gebhardt, Rainey-McCullers School of the 33 Arts; LaMandria Flakes, Reese Road Elementary School; Daniel Purvis, Richards Middle 34 School; Marianne Jordan, Rigdon Road Elementary School; Donessa Moore, River Road 35 Elementary School; Les Cole, Rothschild Leadership Academy; Stephanie Davidson, Shaw 36 High School; Christina Joiner, South Columbus Elementary School; Dexter Smith, Spencer 37 High School; Vicki Hendrix, St. Elmo Center for the Gifted; Denise Toney, St. Mary's 38 Magnet Academy; Jay Wilson, Veterans Memorial Middle School; Shardae Griggs, Waddell 39 Elementary School; Christie Ivory, Wesley Heights Elementary School; and Stacey McClary, 40 Wynnton Arts Academy; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of such remarkable contributions to the education and welfare
of Georgia's students, it is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to honor the
extraordinary accomplishments and academic achievements of these outstanding educators.

44 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 45 the members of this body congratulate and commend the Muscogee County School District's
- 46 2024 Teachers of the Year and express their most sincere best wishes for continued success.
- 47 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 48 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to each
- 49 individual named herein.