House Resolution 1610

By: Representatives Sainz of the 180th, Burns of the 159th, Stephens of the 164th, Townsend of the 179th, Williams of the 168th, and others

A RESOLUTION

Recognizing and commending the Leadership Southeast Georgia Class of 2024; and for other
 purposes.

WHEREAS, in 1999, a regional leadership program evolved in southeast Georgia with the
mission to create a regional strategic plan for community and economic development; and

5 WHEREAS, first hosted by Georgia Southern University from 2000 through 2009, the
6 Leadership Southeast Georgia program expanded its footprint throughout the region covering
7 a ten-county area; and

8 WHEREAS, Leadership Southeast Georgia has evolved into a leadership program designed
9 to advance economic and community development in the ten-county southeast Georgia
10 region and to build a network of regional leadership across county lines; and

WHEREAS, a selected group of civic and business leaders from the communities throughout southeast Georgia come together for five months a year to explore topics such as health and public safety, natural resources, military installations, education, agriculture, transportation, and infrastructure; and 15 WHEREAS, these seasoned leaders from the counties of Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Chatham,

- 16 Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, and Screven make connections and learn ways
- 17 to promote positive growth and improve the quality of life in southeast Georgia; and

18 WHEREAS, the program focuses on improving leadership competencies that are most 19 important to regional leadership, including these competencies: collaboration, conflict 20 resolution, effective communication, emotional intelligence, ethics and values, integrity and 21 trust, and systematical and long-range thinking; and

WHEREAS, under the guidance of the talented and dedicated volunteer Leadership Southeast Georgia Alumni Board of Directors, innovative facilitator Suzanne Kirk, and the team at Cecelia Russo Marketing, the program provides rich leadership experiences for participants; and

26 WHEREAS, the selection committee, made up of Leadership Southeast Georgia Alumni, 27 review applicants from an extensive pool of candidates and the dynamic individuals chosen 28 for the 2024 Class of Leadership Southeast Georgia are: Adot Whitely, Amy Drew, Angela 29 Hendrix, Antonio Key, Billy Joe Nelson, Brendan Ferrara, Buck Holly, Chris Jordan, 30 Courténay Miller, Courtney Grunninger Bonney, Cynthia Cradduck, Desiree Riley, DeVo 31 Adams, Greg Finch, Haydon Rollins, Heath Lloyd, Jennifer Ball, Karla Stanford, Kendra 32 Rolle, Leigh Smiley, Matt Campbell, Tyler Wilson, Olivia, Penrod, Ric Stewart, Necie 33 Carroll, Russell Parr, Tara Jennings, Tom Pace, and Tiffany Zeigler.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
the members of this body recognize and commend the Leadership Southeast Georgia Class
of 2024 and extend best wishes for continued success.

- 37 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 38 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to each
- 39 member of the 2024 Class of Leadership Southeast Georgia.