18 LC 117 0594

House Resolution 1797

By: Representative Dickerson of the 113th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending Georgia's 2018 Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholars; and
- 2 for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Comcast Foundation is committed to building tomorrow's leaders; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Comcast and the Comcast Foundation want to motivate young people to
- 5 achieve their potential, to be involved in their schools, and to be catalysts for positive change
- 6 in their communities; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Leaders and Achievers recognize high school seniors from Comcast
- 8 communities for their commitment to community service, academics, and demonstrated
- 9 leadership; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Comcast asks high school principals and guidance counselors to help identify
- 11 the best and the brightest high school seniors for recognition as a Comcast Leaders and
- 12 Achievers Scholars; and
- 13 WHEREAS, to acknowledge these accomplishments, Leaders and Achievers recipients are
- awarded one-time scholarships, with a base award of \$1,000 to attend an accredited,
- 15 nonprofit college, university, or vocational/technical school in the United States; and
- 16 WHEREAS, recipients may also be eligible for scholarships at higher levels, such as the
- 17 Gustave G. Amsterdam Leadership Award and the Comcast Founders Scholarship, awarded
- 18 locally from the eligible pool of Leaders and Achievers winners; and
- 19 WHEREAS, more than 70 Georgia high school seniors have been named the 2018 Comcast
- 20 Leaders and Achievers Scholars; these students are involved in their schools and
- 21 communities and exemplify the qualities of true leaders; and

18 LC 117 0594

22 WHEREAS, Georgia's 2018 Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholars include: Zainob

- 23 Adeshina, Nia Anderson, Skyler Bass, Andrew Benson, Udisha Bhattacharyya, Katie Bishop,
- 24 Saylor Britt, Jalani Brown, Ross Bryant, Santana Bryant, Nathaniel Buck, Amari Cash, Tarah
- 25 Celestin, Alexandria Chargois, Jasmine Chrisp, Colton Clanton, Rena Clowers, Mackenzie
- 26 Corcelius, Emily Costello, Adah-Lashay Dawson, Desmond Dunson, Katherine Fadus, Jilian
- 27 Ferrell, Madeline Fox, Elissa Gibson, Kerrington Gilliard, Hope Grant, Amy Guzman-Reyes,
- 28 Eleanor Hansen, Selitha Haudey, Stephanie Hayes, Asia Hemphill, Trinity Johnson, Dasha
- 29 King, Summer Lindsey, Dominique Lyons, Madison Martin, James McClellan, Emanuel
- 30 McMillian, Chancelor Mitchell, Ross Moss, Josiane Ngandu, Linda Ngo, Richard
- 31 Nwakamma, Jacque Penn, Alexys Phenix, Kate Phillip, Olivia Phillips, Madison Reddic,
- 32 Midjina Richard, Matthew Riggs, Antonio Rios, Omar Roberts, Mikhayla Robinson, Emma
- 33 Rogers, Emma Sawyer, Darius Scott, Robert Seginack, Zaharia Selman, Lauren Seroyer,
- 34 Jalene Smith, Kseniya Spikina, Rory Starkey, Jessica Stevens, Anuhya Tadepalli, Demorious
- 35 Taylor, Perla Vargas, Sophia Videlefsky, Nia Nicole Wedlowe, Barnabas White, David
- 36 Wright, and Madison Yost; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the State of Georgia champions the dreams and aspirations of its youth, and it
- 38 is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to recognize the efforts of these current and
- 39 future Georgia leaders.
- 40 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 41 the members of this body recognize and commend Georgia's 2018 Comcast Leaders and
- 42 Achievers Scholars for their outstanding leadership and extend sincere best wishes for
- 43 continued success.
- 44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 45 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 46 Georgia's 2018 Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholars.