House Resolution 59

By: Representatives Setzler of the 35th, Carson of the 46th, Reeves of the 34th, Cooper of the 43rd, Anulewicz of the 42nd, and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership Cobb

2 Class of 2019; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
a new group of leaders to guide Cobb County's future; and

5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton, and their vision for Cobb County, as well

7 as the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and

8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from hundreds of qualified applications, selected only 50
9 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2019 to provide a learning
10 environment that enhances personal and professional growth to benefit the individual, his or

11 her local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and

WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full day sessions from September to May, four evening sessions, two three-day retreats, as well as time to attend at least two of the "Lean In" Spotlight on Leadership programs, participation in at least two of the "Reach Out" class projects, homework to prepare for upcoming sessions, and a graduation ceremony, all of which require serious dedication but help the participants become more engaged citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2019 is led by Leadership Cobb alumni Tripp
Boyer, Christina Martin, Mike DeWitt, Melissa Perignat, and Ashley Ward from the Cobb
County Chamber of Commerce, and dozens of alumni who volunteer for committees to plan
each program day including class members Scott Andrews, Sheronica Barcliff, Wezly
Barnard, Jeriene Bonner, Chuck Boring, Rita Breen, Mark Carter, Ross Cavitt, Craig Cupid,
Heidi Dasinger, Mindy Elkan, Kim Ellet, Brian Faison, Jonathan Fallin, Andrea Foard,
Jeremy Fort, Jerry Fountain, Bruce Fraser, Michele Harry, Ellen Hill, Brad Hulsey, Julie

Jacobs, Bill Johnson, Melanie Kagan, Dan Kaiser, Leslie Kehoe, Luke Mashburn, Jason
Meade, Keylan Mitchell, Darin Mitchell, Jr., Greg Mize, Kay Morgan, Alan Muster,
ShaTonya Nicholson, Missy Owen, Julie Peck, Matt Riedemann, Melissa Sabia, Jon Schultz,
Kim Sherk, Alisha Smith, Trooper Smith II, Beth Summers, Jasmine Taylor, Elizabeth

- 29 Weaver, Reed Weigle, Bill Westenberger, Lynn Wigington, and John Zercher; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Politics Day Committee, composed of Leadership Cobb
- 31 alumni and led by Co-Chairs Tain Kell and Kari Hackett alongside committee members
- 32 James Touchton, Jamie Hockin, Jason Shepherd, Karyn Matthews, Lisa Cupid, Luke Lantta,
- 33 Marsha Lake, Michael Owens, Michael Wall, Neera Bahl, Sarah Douglas, Shawn Davis, and
- 34 Slade Gulledge, has put together a program where the Leadership Cobb Class of 2019 will
- 35 spend January 23, 2019, learning more about how their government works and operates,
- 36 better equipping them to be even more engaged citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2019 is poised to "lean in and reach out" for thebetterment of Cobb County.

- 56 betterment of coob county.
- 39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 40 the members of this body recognize and commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the
- 41 Leadership Cobb Class of 2019 for their dedication to community service and their
- 42 commitment to improving opportunities for local citizens.
- 43 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 44 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 45 Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership Cobb Class of 2019.