13 LC 100 0463

House Resolution 781

By: Representatives Hawkins of the 27th and Rogers of the 10th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team on their
- 2 first place win at the 2013 Student Television National Convention and inviting Executive
- 3 Director Charles Dewalt and the students of WTVN to be recognized by the House of
- 4 Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 5 WHEREAS, in the school year 2010-2011, five students under the direction of Charles
- 6 Dewalt began to follow a dream to develop a web-based television network from White
- 7 County High School; and
- 8 WHEREAS, since the program began, its many accomplishments and recognitions have
- 9 caused it to grow to encompass more than 30 students; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the students of WTVN have produced, filmed, and anchored numerous football,
- basketball, baseball, and softball games for White County High School as well as traveling
- 12 to other schools to film; they have also produced and narrated parades and covered numerous
- 13 political events in White County and Cleveland; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team took home
- 15 the award for Best Overall Broadcasting, along with \$10,000 in prize money, from the 2013
- 16 Student Television National Convention in Los Angeles, California; and
- 17 WHEREAS, 2013 marks a continuation of victory and excellence for the White County High
- 18 School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team, as they brought home two first place awards and
- 19 \$10,000 in prize money from the 2012 convention in Dallas, Texas; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the team members who attended the competition include Justin Abad, Kayla
- 21 Everett, Cade Fortner, Breanna Harkins, Haley Haynes, John Jackson, Michael Kliewer,
- 22 Allie Mills, Tiara Olson, Kanan Patel, Kiran Patel, Samuel Pruitt, Casey Seabolt, Hannah
- 23 Skelton, Jordan Suggs, Taylor Usher, and Tanner Whitehead; and

13 LC 100 0463

24 WHEREAS, the incredible success of this exemplary team would not have been possible

- 25 without the astute direction and unyielding support of drama teacher Pete Taulton, Executive
- 26 Producer and WTVN Executive Director Charles Dewalt, White County Board of Education
- 27 member Nancy Wyszynski, White County School Superintendent Mr. Jeff Wilson, and
- 28 White County High School Principal Mr. John Osborn; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the perseverance and determination displayed by this exceptional group is an
- 30 example for all Georgians, and great success is surely in these students' futures.
- 31 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 32 the members of this body congratulate the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV
- 33 broadcast team on their first place win at the 2013 Student Television National Convention,
- 34 commend them for setting a national standard through their commitment to excellence, and
- 35 invite the students listed above along with Executive Director Charles Dewalt to be
- 36 recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time designated by the Speaker of
- 37 the House of Representatives.
- 38 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 39 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the White County High
- 40 School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team.