24 LC 112 1823

House Resolution 813

By: Representatives Jasperse of the 11<sup>th</sup>, Smith of the 139<sup>th</sup>, Hagan of the 156<sup>th</sup>, Wiedower of the 121<sup>st</sup>, Barton of the 5<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the University of Georgia 4-H Program, Thomas Holt, Melanie Biersmith, and
- 2 the 2023-2024 4-H leadership teams and award winners and recognizing February 14, 2024,
- 3 as 4-H Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Thomas Holt of Ben Hill County serves with distinction and dedication as state
- 8 4-H president; Melanie Biersmith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension has
- 9 worked diligently as state 4-H leader/director; and the leadership, dedication, and hard work
- 10 of Tyson Mathis of Oconee County, William Parish of Gordon County, Lauren Coley of
- 11 Bleckley County, and Jacob Bennett of Grady County as district presidents have been
- 12 acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their election of each of these young people to
- 13 serve as president for 2023-2024; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent records of accomplishment in citizenship and leadership of
- 15 Jackson Moore of Stephens County, Venya Gunjal of Cobb County, Hannah Jones of Gordon
- 16 County, Aarsheya Gunjal of Cobb County, Lauren Coley of Bleckley County, and Bethany

24 LC 112 1823

17 Samuel of Tift County have been exemplified by their selection as delegates for the 2023

- 18 National 4-H Conference; Jack Wurst of Columbia County and Amiyah Elam of Ware
- 19 County were named 2023 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Emma Bayer of Cobb County, Chanthony Andrews Jr. of Glynn County,
- 21 Lauren Coley of Bleckley County, Braylen Howell of Baldwin County, Hannah Jones of
- 22 Gordon County, and Kareem El-Gayyar of Fayette County were named state winners in the
- 23 2023 Deans Awards competition; Alyssa Haag, Robie Lucas, Lilly Ann Smith, and Leah
- 24 Szczepanski of Oconee County were named the 2023 National Winners of the National
- 25 Consumer Judging Contest; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Cindy Meadows of Seminole County was named the 2023 William H. Booth
- 27 Award Honoree; Rachel Frisbie of Monroe County received the 2023 Ryles Rising Star
- 28 Award; Rhonda Dunnaway of Gordon County was named the 2023 Volunteer of the Year;
- and John Jones received the 2023 Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer Award.
- 30 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 31 the members of this body commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 32 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Thomas Holt, state 4-H president; Melanie Biersmith,
- 33 state 4-H leader/director; the 2023-2024 4-H district presidents; the 2023 National 4-H
- 34 Conference delegates; the 2023 Leadership in Action winners; the 2023 Deans Awards
- winners; the 2023 National Winners in the National Consumer Judging Contest; the 2023
- William H. Booth Award Honoree; the 2023 Ryles Rising Star winner; the 2023 Volunteer
- 37 of the Year; and the 2023 Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer winner for their numerous
- 38 accomplishments and for the leadership they have demonstrated as well as recognize
- 39 February 14, 2024, as 4-H Day at the state capitol.

24 LC 112 1823

40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized

- 41 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 42 University of Georgia Cooperative Extension.