LC 112 1802

House Resolution 817

By: Representatives Davis of the 87th, Burnough of the 77th, Cummings of the 39th, Jones of the 60th, and Jackson of the 165th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for its 111 years of service and recognizing
- 2 January 29, 2024, as Delta Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a public service organization founded on
- 4 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary collegiate women at Howard University in Washington,
- 5 D.C.; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the founding members included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young
- 7 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr
- 8 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra
- 9 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti
- 10 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence
- 11 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, and Edith
- 12 Motte Young; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a sisterhood of college educated women
- 14 dedicated to academic excellence and committed to community service; and

24 LC 112 1802

15 WHEREAS, more than 300,000 women have joined the organization to implement the

- sorority's mission through its five point programmatic thrust of educational development,
- 17 economic development, political awareness and involvement, physical and mental health,
- 18 and international awareness and involvement; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the sorority has more than 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the
- 20 United States as well as internationally, including Germany, England, Japan, the Virgin
- 21 Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Delta Days at Georgia State Capitol has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield
- 23 Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the
- 24 history of the Georgia General Assembly; the Pota E. Coston Trailblazer Award, named for
- 25 the first African American female commissioner elected in Fayette County, Georgia; and the
- 26 Social Action Collegiate Change Agent Award, which is awarded to a student actively
- 27 involved in student government association leadership or partner organizations who
- demonstrates the ability to create change in either the campus or community environment;
- 29 and
- 30 WHEREAS, members of this illustrious sisterhood serve as elected officials, lend support
- 31 to various local communities, and lead dialogues on public policy throughout their
- 32 communities; and
- 33 WHEREAS, its members are committed to initiatives in alignment with its theme of "Taking
- 34 A Stand by Taking Our Seats: Making an impact for 111 years through sisterhood,
- 35 scholarship, service, and social action!," allowing the members to continue its legacy of
- 36 social justice through civic engagement; and

24 LC 112 1802

37 WHEREAS, House members include Representatives Rhonda Burnough, Terry Cummings,

- 38 Viola Davis, Edna Jackson, and Sheila Jones.
- 39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 40 the members of this body commend the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for its 111
- 41 years of continued commitment to public service and its work in making the State of Georgia
- 42 a better place in which to live and recognize January 29, 2024, as Delta Day at the state
- 43 capitol.
- 44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 45 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Delta
- 46 Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.