Senate Resolution 160

By: Senators Harper of the 7th, Burke of the 11th, Kirk of the 13th, Karinshak of the 48th, Brass of the 28th and others

A RESOLUTION

Recognizing and commending the Worth County and Decatur-Seminole County Forestry 1

2 Units on being named the Georgia Forestry Commission 2018 South Georgia Co-Units of

3 the Year; and for other purposes.

4 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is to provide leadership, 5 service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources; and

6 WHEREAS, due to the outstanding accomplishments of the Worth and Decatur-Seminole 7 County Forestry Units in the year 2018 in the areas of wildfire prevention and suppression, 8 reforestation and seed collection, community outreach and education, and unselfish 9 assistance in extreme weather incidents, both in and out of county, these Units were selected 10 as Georgia Forestry Commission's South Georgia Co-Units of the Year; and

- 11 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Worth and Decatur-Seminole County Forestry 12 Units are a clear indication of the dedication and teamwork of the individuals at these Units, 13 their willingness to assist in recovery efforts when most needed, and the pride they possess
- 14 in their job; and
- WHEREAS, the recognized Worth Forestry Unit consists of dedicated GFC Professionals 15
- Ranger Chris Brannen, Ranger Tyler Harden, and Ranger Sam Reynolds, serving under the 16
- leadership of Chief Ranger Lester Green; and 17
- 18 WHEREAS, the recognized Decatur-Seminole Forestry Unit consists of dedicated GFC
- 19 Professionals Ranger Bryan Cottles, Ranger Terry Heard, Ranger Alan Lowry, Ranger Van
- Smith, retired Ranger Hewlett Powell, and Supplemental Firefighter Royce Davis, serving 20
- 21 under the leadership of Chief Ranger Rodney Heard; and

19

- 22 WHEREAS, the Worth and Decatur-Seminole County Forestry Units bring great pride to the
- 23 citizens of Worth, Decatur, and Seminole counties, the Georgia Forestry Commission, and
- 24 the entire State of Georgia.
- 25 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 26 recognize and commend the Worth County and Decatur-Seminole County Forestry Units for
- 27 being named the 2018 South Georgia Co-Units of the Year.
- 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 29 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Chief Ranger Lester
- 30 Green and Chief Ranger Rodney Heard.