19 LC 117 0867

Senate Resolution 250

By: Senators Dolezal of the 27th, Gooch of the 51st, Jones of the 25th, Albers of the 56th, Unterman of the 45th and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending Forsyth County Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Laura
- 2 Semanson; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Chairwoman Semanson made history by becoming the first woman to chair the
- 4 Forsyth County Board of Commissioners since the board was first convened; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Chairwoman Semanson was elected in 2016 to serve the 2017–2020 term
- 6 representing Forsyth County District 5, which encompasses an eastern sweep of the county,
- 7 including the Lake Lanier region; and
- 8 WHEREAS, she was elected by the board of commissioners to serve as secretary for 2017,
- 9 and serves on the Water and Sewer Committee, the Finance Committee, and the Lanier Joint
- 10 Development Authority; and
- 11 WHEREAS, since relocating to Forsyth County in 2001, she has been active in the
- 12 community, volunteering for various citizens' organizations, coaching youth running, and
- serving as an officer for her homeowners' association; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Chairwoman Semanson has been dedicated to providing the highest standard
- of public service to her constituents, and she remains steadfastly committed to the principles
- 16 of efficiency, integrity, and responsibility; and
- 17 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of this
- 18 remarkable and distinguished Georgian be appropriately recognized.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 20 recognize and commend Forsyth County Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Laura
- 21 Semanson for her efficient, effective, unselfish, and dedicated public service to the State of
- 22 Georgia, and extend the most sincere best wishes for continued success.

19 LC 117 0867

23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

24 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Forsyth County

25 Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Laura Semanson.