13 LC 102 0104

Senate Resolution 39

By: Senators Tolleson of the 20th, Wilkinson of the 50th and Cowsert of the 46th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the 4-H Clubs of Georgia, especially the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 2 Extension; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ms. Tifara Brown of Ben Hill County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 7 State 4-H Club President; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 9 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Maya Mapp of Baldwin County,
- Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta County, Rachael Allen of Johnson County, and Blake Allen
- of Lowndes County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership
- in their election of each of these young people to serve as presidents for 2012-13; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of
- 15 Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta County, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County, Emily Tyus
- of Bleckley County, and Juawn Jackson of Bibb County were recognized in Washington,
- 17 D.C., at the 2012 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Kevin Morris of Chatham County and Mary Clayton Gilbert of Bartow County
- 19 were named 2012 Leadership in Action Winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County, Garrett Hibbs of Oconee County, Tess
- 21 Hammock of Monroe County, Conor Dunn of Tift County, and Crystal Buckingham of
- 22 Pickens County were named state winners in the 2012 Dean's Awards competitions; and

13 LC 102 0104

23 WHEREAS, the Bartow County National Consumer Decisions Contest Team, composed of

- 24 Eli DeBroux, Mary Clayton Gilbert, Emily Velazquez, and Colyn White, won the 2012
- 25 National Consumer Decisions Contest in Denver, Colorado; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Monday, February 4, 2013, is 4-H Day at the State Capitol.
- 27 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 28 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 29 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Ms. Tifara Brown, State 4-H Club President; Mr.
- 30 Arch D. Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2012-13 4-H district presidents; 2012
- 31 Dean's Awards winners; 2012 National 4-H Conference delegates; 2012 Leadership in
- 32 Action winners; and the 2012 National Consumer Decisions Contest winners for their
- 33 numerous accomplishments and for the leadership that they have demonstrated.
- 34 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 35 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 36 Extension.