Introduced Version

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Hamilton Southeastern High School "We the People" team on winning the 2023 "We the People" state championship.

Huston, Jeter

_____, read first time and referred to Committee on



20242238

Second Regular Session of the 123rd General Assembly (2024)

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the
 Hamilton Southeastern High School "We the People" team on
 winning the 2023 "We the People" state championship.

Whereas, On December 13, 2023, the Hamilton Southeastern
High School "We the People" team won the 2023 "We the
People" State Finals in Indianapolis, Indiana, by defeating
teams from 14 high schools in order to represent Indiana in the
2024 "We the People" National Finals;

9 Whereas, During the annual civics competition, more than 10 600 middle and high school students from across the state 11 prepared statements and answered questions from panels of 12 judges concerning the United States Constitution and its 13 application to relevant historical and contemporary issues; and

Whereas, The "We the People" National Finals will take
place from April 13-15, 2024, consisting of more than 636
half-hour hearings, where approximately 1,000 students in 48
classes from across the United States will showcase their depth
and breadth of knowledge of our nation's founding documents
through simulated legislative hearings: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives
of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,
the Senate concurring:

23 SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly
24 congratulates the Hamilton Southeastern High School "We the
25 People" team on winning the 2023 "We the People" state
26 championship.



2024

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of 1 Representatives shall transmit copies of this resolution to 2 3 Reggie Simmons, Hamilton Southeastern High School principal, each coach including Janet Chandler and Alana Kane, 4 and each student member of the Hamilton Southeastern High 5 School "We the People" team including Lila Chamberlain, 6 Brooke Conley, Emily Everett, Jaimie Favara, Siran Ganesh, 7 8 Lauren Hand, Omana Jacob, Guru Kapase, Manav Krishna, Liam McClain, Ashton Merriam, Fay Montalvo, Connor 9 Moore, Lauren Nolan, Naina Praveen, Addy Ricafort, Aksel 10

11 Sjostrom, Anna Williams, Skye Wood, Alex Yu.

