Introduced Version

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Ben Davis High School varsity boys' basketball team.

Pack

_____, read first time and referred to Committee on

First Regular Session of the 123rd General Assembly (2023)

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Ben Davis
2	High School varsity boys' basketball team.
2	Wharaas The Pan Davis High School varsity boys' bask at hall
3	Whereas, The Ben Davis High School varsity boys' basketball
4	team won the IHSAA Class 4A state championship on March
5	25, 2023;
6	Whereas, The Giants clinched their fourth state title after
7	going 33-0 for the season, breaking the school record for wins
8	and becoming only the 14th undefeated state champion in
9	IHSAA history;
10	Whereas, They defeated Kokomo 53-41 in the championship
11	game at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana;
12	Whereas, The Ben Davis varsity boys' basketball team
13	consisted of Shaun Arnold, Clay Butler, Jamir Carnell, Zane
14	Doughty, Ramone Enis, Jesse Faires, Justin Harrington,
15	Lincoln Murff, Sheridan Sharp, Mark White, KJ Windham, and
16	Mark Zackery;
17	Whereas, The team was led by Head Coach Don Carlisle,
18	Varsity Assistant Coach Courtney James, Varsity Assistant
19	Coach Corey Taylor, and Coaches Kevin Butler, Virgil Akers,
20	Fred Long, Michael Ray, Jr., and Phil Brown;
21	Whereas, The team's managers were Terran Coles, Chloe
22	Belton, Ahmani Smith, and Kyndell Minor; and

Whereas, Through their hard work and determination, the
Ben Davis Giants were able to bring home the championship



2023

HC 1042/DI 140

1	for themselves and their school: Therefore,
2	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives
3	of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,
4	the Senate concurring:
5	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly
6	congratulates the Ben Davis High School varsity boys'
7	basketball team on their state championship win.
8	SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
9	Representatives shall transmit copies of this resolution to State
10	Representative Renee Pack for distribution.

