HOUSE RESOLUTION No. ___

Introduced by: Moseley, Pelath

A HOUSE RESOLUTION honoring the Chesterton High School debate team.

Whereas, The Chesterton High School debate team recaptured the state title with a victory over rival West Lafayette High School at the Indiana High School Forensic Association (IHSFA) Championship Tournament;

Whereas, This year's victory brings the total to 23 state debate championships for the Chesterton team out of a possible 31 since the state debate championship began;

Whereas, The 92 point victory is the 2nd highest point total at an IHSFA State Debate Tournament;

Whereas, Junior Abby Burke was individual state champion in the Lincoln-Douglas category and the 7th state champion in the program's history, Matt Eggers and Salman Lakhani were runners-up in Public Forum debate, and teams Nadia Mario

20142470

HR 1536/DI 84 2014

and Katherine Bolek and Zach Bogich and Alex Genetski tied for third in policy debate;

Whereas, Mikaela Meyer was awarded the Robert E. Brittain Mental Attitude Scholarship, an annual award given to a senior who is nominated by the student's coach and selected by the Indiana High School Forensic Association Board of Directors;

Whereas, The art of debating has a long and honorable history throughout the United States and the world; and

Whereas, The ability to speak eloquently and to affect the opinion of others is a valuable skill for the youth of today: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives congratulates Chesterton High School and the members of the debate team and encourages them to continue to polish their skills in the ageold art of public speaking.

 SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit copies of this resolution to team members Abby Burke, Eric Zhong, Corinne Leopole, Chris Krause, Matt Eggers, Salman Lakhani, Taryn Trusty, Miranda Whah, Jessica Ratel-Khan, Hannah Vasquez, Nathan Burris, Tyler Colvin, Katherine Bolek, Nadia Mario, Alex Genetski, Zach Bogich, Emily Percifield, Kaley Brown, Joel Peterson, Tim Vincent, Mikaela Meyer, Andrew Caratini, Don Reinert, Andrea Drygas, and JP Pritchard, coaches Chris Lowery, Carol Biel, Shane Smith, and Josh Coots, principal Jeffrey Van Drie, and superintendent Dr. David Pruis.



HR 1536/DI 84 2014