AN ACT relating to peace officers.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→ Section 1. KRS 61.365 is amended to read as follows:

The following persons who are employed by the federal government as law enforcement or investigative officers who have the power of arrest and who are residents of the Commonwealth of Kentucky shall be deemed peace officers and shall have the same powers and duties of any other peace officer in the Commonwealth, except that they shall not be required to serve process unless permitted to do so by their respective agencies:

- (1) Federal Bureau of Investigation special agents;
- (2) United States Secret Service special agents;
- (3) United States Marshal's service deputies;
- (4) Drug Enforcement Administration special agents;
- (5) Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms special agents;
- (6) United States Forest Service special agents and law enforcement officers;
- (7) Special agents and law enforcement officers of the Office of the Inspector General of the United States Department of Agriculture;
- (8) United States Customs Service special agents; and
- (9) United States National Park Service law enforcement rangers; and

(10) United States Mint Police of the United States Department of the Treasury:

- (a) On the portion of United States Highway 31W that is located within the borders of the Fort Knox Military Reservation;
- (b) Within a local jurisdiction, upon the written request of the head of the local

 law enforcement agency identifying a specific event and time frame for

 which assistance is requested; and
- (c) Within the Commonwealth, upon the written request of the commissioner of
 the Department of Kentucky State Police identifying a specific event and
 time frame for which assistance is requested.