UNOFFICIAL COPY

19 RS BR 1420

1	A RESOLUTION urging Congress to adopt Election Day, the first Tuesday after the
2	first Monday in November, as a national holiday.
3	WHEREAS, voting is an essential component of our democracy, vital to the health
4	of our nation, and preserving the principles of liberty, justice, and equality; and
5	WHEREAS, since 2000, voter turnout for presidential elections in the United States
6	has ranged from 55 to 62 percent, much lower than in developed countries such as
7	Belgium, Denmark, and Sweden, which have participation rates above 80 percent; and
8	WHEREAS, in a recent survey, the United States ranked 26 out of 32 countries in
9	voter participation in presidential elections; and
10	WHEREAS, participation in midterm elections is even lower, with a range typically
11	between 36 and 40 percent. In 2014, just over 36 percent of the population voted, the
12	lowest in over 70 years; and
13	WHEREAS, one of the most common reasons Americans do not vote is because
14	school and work schedules do not allow them the time or opportunity to vote; and
15	WHEREAS, having a national holiday would ease obstacles to voting for millions
16	of Americans, encourage participation in the democratic process, celebrate the importance
17	of voting and its significance on our society, and preserve the principles of liberty, justice,
18	and equality for all who want it;
19	NOW, THEREFORE,
20	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the
21	Commonwealth of Kentucky:
22	\Rightarrow Section 1. The Kentucky House of Representatives respectfully urges the
23	Congress of the United States to designate the Tuesday after the first Monday in
24	November in 2020, and each even-numbered year thereafter as a legal public holiday, as
25	described in 5 U.S.C. sec. 6103.
26	\Rightarrow Section 2. The Clerk of the House of Representatives shall send a copy of this

27

Page 1 of 2

Resolution to the President and Vice President of the United States of America, the

UNOFFICIAL COPY

Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the Minority Leader of the United
States House of Representatives, the Majority Leader of the United States Senate, the
Minority Leader of the United States Senate, and each member of the Kentucky
Congressional Delegation.