2020 Regular Session

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 12

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER, GREEN, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BACALA, BAGALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, BISHOP, BOURRIAQUE, BRASS, BROWN, BRYANT, BUTLER, CARPENTER, CARRIER, GARY CARTER, ROBBY CARTER, WILFORD CARTER, CORMIER, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DESHOTEL, DEVILLIER, DUBUISSON, DUPLESSIS, DWIGHT, ECHOLS, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FONTENOT, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, FRIEMAN, GADBERRY, GAINES, GAROFALO, GLOVER, GOUDEAU, HARRIS, HENRY, HILFERTY, HODGES, HOLLIS, HORTON, HUGHES, HUVAL, ILLG, IVEY, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JONES, JORDAN, KERNER, LACOMBE, LANDRY, LARVADAIN, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, MOORE, MUSCARELLO, NELSON, NEWELL, CHARLES OWEN, ROBERT OWEN, PHELPS, PIERRE, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHAMERHORN, SEABAUGH, SELDERS, ST. BLANC, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, TARVER, THOMAS, THOMPSON, TURNER, VILLIO, WHEAT, WHITE, WILLARD, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE AND SENATORS ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CONNICK, CORTEZ, FESI, FIELDS, FOIL, HARRIS, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, JOHNS, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MCMATH, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, ROBERT MILLS, MIZELL, MORRIS, PEACOCK, PETERSON, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, TALBOT, TARVER, WARD, WHITE, AND WOMACK

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Louisiana State University on winning the 2020 College Football Playoff

National Championship.

WHEREAS, LSU proved its dominance in the national championship game by ending Clemson's twenty-nine-game winning streak with a 42-25 victory over the defending

national champions; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers won their fourth national championship in program history, joining the football teams from 1958, 2003, and 2007; and

WHEREAS, the LSU football team became only the second team in modern football

history to finish a season with a 15-0 record; the Tigers also became the first team in college football history with seven victories over top-ten teams in a single season; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers were led by four Associated Press All-Americans: Joe Burrow, Ja'Marr Chase, Derek Stingley, Jr., and Grant Delpit; and WHEREAS, the team could not have achieved such success without the unrelenting passion, dedication, and leadership of Coach Ed Orgeron and his incredible coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, the awe-inspiring victory of the LSU Tigers football team in the 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship truly upholds the glorious traditions of the purple and gold; and

WHEREAS, the joy of this incredible season will live in the hearts of LSU fans forever, and LSU's dominance will become the new standard of excellence in the annals of college football; and

WHEREAS, it is most appropriate to recognize and express enduring appreciation for the immense pride and genuine honor that the 2019-2020 LSU Tigers football team has brought to the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University Tigers football team on winning the 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship and does hereby recognize and congratulate the team, the coaching staff, and the entire LSU family on this momentous and historic achievement.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Louisiana State University athletics director, Scott Woodward.

## SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE