2020 Second Extraordinary Session

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 19

BY REPRESENTATIVES MIKE JOHNSON, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BUTLER, CARRIER, ROBBY CARTER, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DESHOTEL, ECHOLS, EMERSON, FIRMENT, FREIBERG, GADBERRY, GAROFALO, HARRIS, HORTON, JEFFERSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JONES, LACOMBE, LARVADAIN, MCCORMICK, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MOORE, CHARLES OWEN, PRESSLY, RISER, SCHAMERHORN, SCHEXNAYDER, SEABAUGH, TARVER, THOMPSON, AND WHITE

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To establish the Task Force on the 4.9 GHz Spectrum to study and make recommendations on how to close the digital divide and allocate the 4.9 GHz spectrum should it become available in Louisiana and to submit a written report of its findings and recommendations to the legislature no later than February 1, 2021.

WHEREAS, internet connectivity is more important than ever before in light of students attending school virtually, patients using telemedicine to talk to their doctors, and businesses conducting sales online; and

WHEREAS, on September 30, 2020, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) adopted a rule which would allow the state to allocate 50 MHz of the 4.9 GHz spectrum; and

WHEREAS, due to the properties of the 4.9 GHz band of spectrum, it is especially well-suited to provide internet connectivity to those who currently have no or few options; and

WHEREAS, rural wireless broadband providers have expressed to the FCC that they would be interested in using this spectrum to close the digital divide; and

WHEREAS, it is imperative that Louisiana be well-positioned to take advantage of this spectrum to close the digital divide should it become available.

HCR NO. 19 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby establish the Task Force on the 4.9 GHz Spectrum to study and make recommendations regarding how to allocate the 4.9 GHz spectrum to close the digital divide should it become available in the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall be composed of the following members:

- (1) The governor or his designee.
- (2) The speaker of the House of Representatives or his designee.
- (3) The president of the Senate or his designee.
- (4) The chairman of the House Committee on Commerce or his designee.
- (5) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and International Affairs or his designee.
  - (6) A representative of the Louisiana State Troopers Association.
  - (7) A representative of Louisiana Economic Development.
  - (8) The executive director of the office of broadband and connectivity.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that in conducting such study, the task force should reach out to the Office of the Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission for advice and guidance on the bidding process to allocate the 4.9 GHz spectrum so it can connect as many Louisianans as possible.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that members of this task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of the constituent organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the names of the members selected to serve on the task force shall be submitted to the speaker of the House of Representatives no later than November 15, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall hold its first meeting no later than December 1, 2020.

HCR NO. 19 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force may conduct such meetings at such times as it may deem necessary or convenient to enable it to exercise fully its powers and duties.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall make a report of its findings and recommendations, with suggestions for proposed legislation, if any, to the legislature no later than February 1, 2021, at which time the task force shall cease to exist.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall submit one print copy and one electronic copy of any report produced pursuant to this Resolution to the David R. Poynter Legislative Research Library as required by R.S. 24:772.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE