BY SENATOR PERRY AND REPRESENTATIVE HENSGENS

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Vermilion Catholic High School Eagles on winning the Division IV State Football Championship.

WHEREAS, the Vermilion Catholic High School football team completed a sensational 2013 season in December earning the title of Division IV State Champions by defeating perennial powerhouse St. Fredricks High School by a score of 63-18 in the 2013-14 Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) State Farm Prep Classic at the Superdome in New Orleans on December 14, 2013; and

WHEREAS, this gallant effort capped one of the finest seasons ever for the team, posting an exceptional record of fourteen wins and no losses, and at the time of their state title victory setting a new mark for most points scored in an LHSAA title game, which had previously stood at 62 points set by South Plaquemines in 2008, and tied by Calvary Baptist on December 12, 2013; and

WHEREAS, coaches Russell Kuhns, Roch Charpentier, Eric LeBlanc, Scott Wattingny, and Kevin Fouquier instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, the team never lost sight of its dream of winning the state football championship title, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the season and in the playoffs, and each of these great Eagles deserves individual recognition for his vital contribution to that winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Payton Trahan, Chris Campbell, Mike Campbell, Gage Broussard, Emile Trahan, Connor Menard, Tyler Lege, Gage Trahan, Cameron Constantin, Brennan Gallet, Andre Girouard, Griffin Dyson, Andrew Romaine, Wes Meaux,

SCR NO. 32 ENROLLED

Cade Boudreaux, Donnie Comeaux, James Williams, Drake Broussard, Dillon Cessac,

Tyler Derouen, Matthew Fontenot, David Trappey, Tristin Kelly, Hunter Frith,

William Noegel, Shay LaPorte, Griffin Vicknair, Alex LeBlanc, Andre Dubois,

Jansen Weaver, Jacob David, Collin Primeaux, Alex Clark, Layne Schlaubach,

Matthew Broussard, Zach Husband, Trey Ryder, Alex Bedwell, Harrison Vicknair,

Braxton Cessac, Paul Veazey, Caleb Bengtson, Peyton Theriot, Micah Dronet, Zach McRee,

Jaques Hebert, Grayson Dubois, JJ Cote, Kyle Zenon, Auston Wooten, Hunter Bertrand,

Noah Bacilla, Nicholas Smalley, Nick Fletcher, and Ashton Washington, all forged as a team

committed to excellence; and

WHEREAS, the Eagles team members and coaching staff have earned the

well-deserved commendation for the abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most

difficult level of competition, for the outstanding merits they have earned, and the

sportsmanship shown while achieving such a high honor for their school.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend and congratulate the members of the Vermilion Catholic High School football

team, Head Coach Russell Kuhns, and the assistant coaches for winning the Division IV

Football Championship and a truly spectacular season and does recognize their outstanding

performance and the honor they have brought to their school and community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

principal of Vermilion Catholic High School, Mike Guilbeaux, and to Head Coach

Russell Kuhns.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2