SLS 20RS-874 ORIGINAL

2020 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 55

BY SENATOR HEWITT

1

VOTERS/VOTING. Establishes the Closed Party Primary Task Force to study the necessary steps to develop a closed party primary election system applicable at the federal, state, and local levels beginning with the 2022 congressional elections.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To establish the Closed Party Primary Task Force to study and make recommendations
3	regarding the development of a closed party primary election system applicable at
4	the federal, state, and local levels, beginning with the 2022 congressional elections.
5	WHEREAS, citizens of Louisiana deserve to have their voices heard and their wills
6	reflected through exercising their fundamental right to vote; and
7	WHEREAS, Louisiana is one of only three states that have no electoral mechanism
8	to assure major party voters that they will have a candidate who more closely represents their
9	views in the general election; and
10	WHEREAS, the current common ballot primary system may negatively impact
11	candidates who belong to the same political party; and
12	WHEREAS, the common ballot primary system places Louisiana's federal office
13	holders at a distinct disadvantage as it relates to seniority due to the delay in assuming office
14	associated with the timing of the election cycle; and
15	WHEREAS, it is imperative that the legislature develops and implements informed
16	and thorough policies and mechanisms to allow its citizens to select the best qualified
17	candidates for office; and
18	WHEREAS, the common ballot primary system deprives Louisiana voters of a

1	sufficient evaluation period to determine their preferred candidate utilized by voters in other
2	states due to the condensed time frame between the primary and general elections; and
3	WHEREAS, the electoral process should adapt in order to ensure an equitable and
4	just outcome and to guarantee results indicative of the true and impartial goals of the
5	democratic process.
6	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana establishes the
7	Closed Party Primary Task Force to study the development of a closed party primary
8	election system applicable at the federal, state, and local levels beginning with the 2022
9	congressional elections.
10	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Closed Party Primary Task Force shall be
11	comprised of the following members:
12	(1) The chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee, or her designee.
13	(2) The chair of the House and Governmental Affairs Committee, or his designee.
14	(3) The Secretary of State, or his designee.
15	(4) The Attorney General, or his designee.
16	(5) The chair of the State Board of Election Supervisors, or his designee.
17	(6) A designee from the Louisiana Clerks of Court Association.
18	(7) A designee from the Louisiana Registrar of Voters Association.
19	(8) A designee from the NAACP.
20	(9) A designee from the Pelican Institute.
21	(10) The chair of the Louisiana Democratic Party, or his designee.
22	(11) The executive director of the Louisiana Democratic Party.
23	(12) The chair of the Republican Party of Louisiana, or his designee.
24	(13) The executive director of the Republican Party of Louisiana.
25	(14) A member of the Senate, designated by the Senate president.
26	(15) A member of the House of Representatives, designated by the Speaker of the
27	House.
28	(16) A designee from Louisiana's congressional delegation.
29	(17) A mayor designated by the Louisiana Municipal Association.
30	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the chairwoman of the Senate and Governmental

SLS 20RS-874

ORIGINAL
SCP NO. 55

Affairs Committee shall serve as the chair of the task force and the staff of the Senate and 1 2 Governmental Affairs Committee shall provide support to the task force. 3 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of this task force shall serve 4 without compensation, except per diem or expenses reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their constituent organizations. 5 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a majority of the total membership shall 6 constitute a quorum of the task force and any official action by the task force shall require 7 8 an affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum present and voting. 9 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the names of the members designated or selected 10 as provided herein shall be submitted to the chair of the task force by July 1, 2020, and the 11 chair shall thereafter call the first meeting of the task force by August 15, 2020. 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall meet as necessary and make 13 a written report of its findings to the legislature by January 15, 2021, together with any specific proposals for legislation, including but not limited to recommendations relative to 14 amending R.S. 18:401-402. 15 16 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall terminate upon the date of

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall terminate upon the date of submission of its report or February 1, 2021, whichever occurs first.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of the task force report be transmitted to the House and Governmental Affairs Committee, the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee, and to the institutions represented by members of the task force.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Matt DeVille.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

Hewitt

SCR 55 Original

17

18

19

20

Establishes the Closed Party Primary Task Force to study the development of a closed party primary system applicable at the federal, state, and local levels beginning with the 2022 congressional elections. Requires a written report to the legislature by January 15, 2021 and will terminate upon the date of submission of such report or February 1, 2021, whichever occurs first.

Comprises the task force of:

- (1) The chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee, or her designee.
- (2) The chair of the House and Governmental Affairs Committee, or his designee.

- (3) The Secretary of State, or his designee.
- (4) The Attorney General, or his designee.
- (5) The chair of the State Board of Election Supervisors, or his designee.
- (6) A designee from the Louisiana Clerks of Court Association.
- (7) A designee from the Louisiana Registrar of Voters Association.
- (8) A designee from the NAACP.
- (9) A designee from the Pelican Institute.
- (10) The chair of the Louisiana Democratic Party, or his designee.
- (11) The executive director of the Louisiana Democratic Party.
- (12) The chair of the Republican Party of Louisiana, or his designee.
- (13) The executive director of the Republican Party of Louisiana.
- (14) A member of the Senate, designated by the Senate president.
- (15) A member of the House of Representatives, designated by the Speaker of the House.
- (16) A designee from Louisiana's congressional delegation.
- (17) A mayor designated by the Louisiana Municipal Association.

Specifies that the members of the task force serve without compensation, except for such reimbursement or per diem they are individually entitled to as members of the constituent group they represent.

Provides that the chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee shall chair the task force.

Provides that the names of the members will be submitted to the chair of the task force by July 1st and the chair will thereafter call the first meeting of the task force.