BY SENATOR JOHNS

A RESOLUTION

To commend the St. Louis Girls Track and Field team upon winning the 2014 Class 3A outdoor track and field championship.

WHEREAS, the state outdoor track and field meet was held at the LSU Bernie Moore Stadium on the Louisiana State University campus in Baton Rouge with the Class 3A meet being on May 10; and

WHEREAS, the St. Louis High School girls of Lake Charles, Louisiana, earned a score of eighty-four points, a solid victory over their closest competitor; and

WHEREAS, championship finishes were recorded as follows: javelin, Alexis Rigmaiden; 800-meter run, Kaitlyn Tunks; and 400-meter dash, Hannah Jackson; and

WHEREAS, runner-up finishes were recorded as follows: javelin, Drew Chatters; shot put, Rhea Thompson; 300-meter hurdles, Shondalynn Jasmine; 4 x 100-meter relay, Ellen Briley, Shondalynn Jasmine, Drew Chatters, and Hannah Jackson; and 4 x 200-meter relay, Shondalynn Jasmine, Kaitlyn Tunks, Drew Chatters, and Hannah Jackson; and

WHEREAS, third and fourth place finishes were recorded as follows: third-place discus, Rhea Thompson; and fourth-place pole vault, Ellen Briley; and

WHEREAS, the team was filled with a highly talented group of young women, including the following: Madeline Koenig, Laura Lewing, Maddie Mack, Jasmine Abel, Jamie Gilmore, Lauren Hammond, Elaina Kilpatrick, Maris Nixon, Shayla Stevens, Maddie Lechtenburg, Tabitha Sonnier, and Jasmine Weber; and

WHEREAS, the St. Louis Girls Track and Field team was lead by a skilled group of coaches including Head Coach Tommy Johns and assistant coaches, Johnny Giordano, Trey Harts, Chad Coltharp, Chad Dore, Chris Jones, James Kirkendall, and Greg Latour; and

WHEREAS, the St. Louis Girls Track and Field team is the back-to-back state champions having won the state championship in both 2013 and 2014.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana

SR NO. 156 ENROLLED

does hereby commend the St. Louis Girls Track and Field team upon winning the 2014 Class 3A outdoor track and field championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Tommy Johns.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE