## BY SENATOR THOMPSON

## A RESOLUTION

To designate April 25 through May 1, 2010, as "Conservation Stewardship Week" at the Louisiana Senate.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts joins the National Association of Conservation Districts in sponsoring National Soil and Water Stewardship Week, April 25 through May 1, 2010, to recognize that our very existence is predicated on healthy soil and clean water; and

WHEREAS, in the 1930s, the nation witnessed a soil erosion crisis and the search began for ways to restore the land and to protect the soil, water, and other natural resources; and

WHEREAS, on April 27, 1935, the United States Soil Conservation Service, now the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), was created; and

WHEREAS, in 1938, Act 370 of the Legislature of Louisiana established the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and local Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) program; and

WHEREAS, the NRCS and SWCD formed a conservation partnership for the purpose of assisting landowners and managers to plan and implement measures to conserve, protect, and enhance soil, water, and other natural resources; and

WHEREAS, effective conservation measures have helped to maintain our fertile soils and clean water which provides us with daily sustenance and a rich standard of living; and

WHEREAS, our national and individual security depends upon fertile soils and clean water; and

WHEREAS, the stewardship of these precious resources requires each citizen to help conserve and protect them.

SR NO. 32 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate April 25 through May 1, 2010, as "Conservation Stewardship Week" to raise awareness and to demonstrate support of all past and future efforts to protect and conserve our soil, water, and other natural resources.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Louisiana Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry, the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, the office of soil and water conservation, the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission, the secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, the United State Department of Agriculture, the Natural Resources Conservation Service, the Louisiana Association of Conservation Districts, and the National Association of Conservation Districts.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE