## HOUSE BILL 577

G1

9lr2002

By: **Delegates Shoemaker, Mosby, and Rose** Introduced and read first time: February 4, 2019 Assigned to: Ways and Means

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted Read second time: March 12, 2019

CHAPTER \_\_\_\_\_

1 AN ACT concerning

## Election Law - County and Municipal Employee Service as Election Judge Administrative Leave

FOR the purpose of requiring that a county or municipal employee who serves as an election
 judge during hours that the employee is scheduled to work for the county or the
 municipal corporation receive certain administrative leave and certain election judge
 compensation; making a clarifying change; and generally relating to administrative
 leave for county and municipal employees who serve as election judges.

- 9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 10 Article Election Law
- 11 Section 10–202(d)
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (2017 Replacement Volume and 2018 Supplement)
- 14 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, 15 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 15 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 16 Article Election Law
- 17 10-202.
- (d) A State<del>, COUNTY, OR MUNICIPAL</del> <u>OR COUNTY</u> employee who serves as an
  election judge during hours that the employee is otherwise scheduled to work for the State<del>,</del>
  THE COUNTY, OR THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATION <u>OR COUNTY</u> SHALL RECEIVE:

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



## HOUSE BILL 577

1 (1) [may use] 1 hour of administrative leave for each hour of service as an 2 election judge, up to a total of 8 hours for each day of service; and

3 (2) [shall receive] the election judge compensation as specified in § 10–205 4 of this subtitle.

5 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 6 October 1, 2019.

Approved:

Governor.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.