HOUSE BILL 739

E4 HB 717/19 – JUD

By: Delegates J. Lewis and Moon

Introduced and read first time: January 30, 2020

Assigned to: Judiciary

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments

House action: Adopted

Read second time: March 12, 2020

CHAPTER

1 AN ACT concerning

Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force

- 3 FOR the purpose of establishing the Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force; providing 4 for the composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a member of 5 the Task Force from receiving certain compensation, but authorizing the 6 reimbursement of certain expenses; requiring the Task Force to study and make 7 recommendations regarding certain matters; requiring the Task Force to report its 8 findings and recommendations to the General Assembly on or before a certain date; 9 providing for the termination of this Act; and generally relating to the Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force. 10
- 11 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 12 That:

2

- 13 (a) There is a Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force.
- 14 (b) The Task Force consists of the following members:
- 15 (1) two members of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of
- 16 the Senate;
- 17 (2) two members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of
- 18 the House;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

$\frac{1}{2}$	(3) the Secretary of Information Technology, or the Secretary's designee; and
3	(4) the following members:
4 5	(i) one representative of the Maryland Association of Counties, designated by the President of the Association;
6 7 8 9	(ii) one representative two representatives of the Maryland Municipal League who is the chair or a member of the Maryland Municipal League's Hometown Emergency Preparedness Ad Hoc Committee, designated by the President of the League;
10 11	(iii) one representative of the Prince George's County Municipal Association, designated by the President of the Association;
12 13	(iv) one representative of the Maryland Chiefs of Police Association, designated by the President of the Association;
14 15	(v) one representative of the Municipal Police Executive Association of the Maryland Municipal League, designated by the President of the League;
16 17	(vi) (v) one representative of the Maryland Sheriffs' Association, designated by the President of the Association;
18 19	(vii) (vi) one representative of the Maryland Correctional Administrators Association, designated by the President of the Association; and
20 21	(viii) (vii) one representative of the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators, designated by the President of the Association.
22 23	(c) The Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate shall jointly designate the chair and vice—chair of the Task Force.
24 25	(d) The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services shall provide staff for the Task Force.
26	(e) A member of the Task Force:
27	(1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Task Force; but
28 29	(2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.
30	(f) The Task Force shall:

 ${1 \\ 2}$

(1) study options for the economical storage of audio and video recordings made by law enforcement body—worn cameras; and
(2) make recommendations for storage considering the budgets of State, county, local, and campus law enforcement jurisdictions.
(g) On or before December 1, 2020, the Task Force shall report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly, in accordance with $\S~2-1257$ of the State Government Article.
SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2020. It shall remain effective for a period of 1 year and, at the end of June 30, 2021, this Act, with no further action required by the General Assembly, shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.
Approved:
Governor.
Speaker of the House of Delegates.
President of the Senate.