12 9lr2181 CF HB 323

By: Senator Carozza

Introduced and read first time: January 30, 2019

Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

A BILL ENTITLED

1	AN	ACT	concerning
1	ΔN	$\Delta C''\Gamma$	concerning
T	7 7 7 A	$T \cap T$	Concerning

2

Somerset County - Commissioners - Residency Requirements

- 3 FOR the purpose of requiring each County Commissioner of Somerset County to reside in 4 a certain commissioners' district for a certain amount of time before election as a 5 Commissioner and during the term of office as Commissioner; prohibiting a 6 Commissioner from continuing to serve during the current term of office if the 7 Commissioner does not maintain a certain residency under certain circumstances; 8 authorizing an incumbent Commissioner who no longer resides in a certain district 9 due to a change in the district's boundaries to continue as a Commissioner for the remainder of the term of office; and generally relating to residency requirements for 10 11 the County Commissioners of Somerset County.
- 12 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 13 The Public Local Laws of Somerset County
- 14 Section 2–101
- 15 Article 20 Public Local Laws of Maryland
- 16 (2015 Edition, as amended)
- 17 (As enacted by Chapters 167 and 168 of the Acts of the General Assembly of 2016)
- 18 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 19 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

20 Article 20 – Somerset County

- 21 2-101.
- 22 (a) There are 5 County Commissioners for Somerset County, who hold office for 4 years and until their successors are elected and qualified.

- 1 (B) (1) A COMMISSIONER ELECTED FROM A COMMISSIONERS' DISTRICT DESCRIBED IN § 2–102 OF THIS SUBTITLE MUST BE A RESIDENT OF THAT DISTRICT DURING:
- 4 (I) THE 6 MONTHS IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE ELECTION 5 OF THE COMMISSIONER; AND
- 6 (II) THE FULL TERM OF OFFICE AS A COMMISSIONER.
- 7 (2) A COMMISSIONER FROM A COMMISSIONERS' DISTRICT WHO DOES 8 NOT MAINTAIN RESIDENCY IN THAT DISTRICT MAY NOT CONTINUE AS A COUNTY 9 COMMISSIONER AND THE OFFICE SHALL BE DEEMED VACANT.
- 10 (3) If the boundary of a commissioners' district is changed, 11 The term of an incumbent Commissioner who no longer resides in that 12 District because of the change is not affected during that term.
- [(b)] (C) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, each Commissioner shall receive an annual salary of \$8,500.
- 15 (2) The President of the County Commissioners shall receive an annual 16 salary of \$9,500.
- [(c)] (D) Each Commissioner may receive reimbursement of no more than \$3,000 a year for expenses incurred for any official duties. The County Commissioner shall submit a reimbursement voucher, signed by 3 of the 5 Commissioners.
- SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2019.