APPROVEDCHAPTERAPRIL 22, 2024656BY GOVERNORPUBLIC LAW

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-FOUR

S.P. 353 - L.D. 794

An Act to Expand the Membership of the Permanent Commission on the Status of Women

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §7030, as enacted by PL 2009, c. 191, §1, is amended to read:

§7030. Membership

The commission consists of $47 \underline{19}$ members, including $7 \underline{9}$ appointed by the Governor, 5 appointed by the President of the Senate and 5 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. In making these appointments, the Governor, the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall consider and appoint residents of the State who have a knowledge of problems facing women in the State, who have experience in advocacy relating to women's issues and who provide leadership in programs or activities that improve opportunities for women. The members of the commission must be chosen from throughout the State, and the majority of members must be women. A member of the Legislature may not be appointed to the commission. The Governor shall appoint $7 \underline{8}$ members, each of whom represents one of the following interests: minorities, the elderly, Black people, indigenous people and people of color; older residents of the State; low-income people; persons with disabilities; youth; persons working with vietims survivors of domestic violence and; federally recognized Indian nations, tribes and bands in the State; and LGBTQIA+ persons. The Governor also shall appoint a member who is a person who has not attained 25 years of age.

For purposes of this section, "LGBTQIA+" includes, but is not limited to, persons who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex or asexual.