| 1  | SENATE BILL NO. 275   |
|----|---|
| 2  | INTRODUCED BY R. WEBB, M. BLASDEL, K. HANSEN, J. HINKLE, D. HOWARD, D. KARY, S. SALES,                            |
| 3  | C. SMITH, N. SWANDAL, J. TAYLOR, G. VANCE   |
| 4  |   |
| 5  | A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT SUBMITTING TO THE QUALIFIED ELECTORS OF MONTANA AN                            |
| 6  | AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE X, SECTION 9, OF THE MONTANA CONSTITUTION REQUIRING ELECTION OF                              |
| 7  | THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION; AND PROVIDING A DELAYED EFFECTIVE DATE                              |
| 8  | AND AN APPLICABILITY DATE."   |
| 9  |   |
| 10 | BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:   |
| 11 |   |
| 12 | Section 1. Article X, section 9, of The Constitution of the State of Montana is amended to read:                  |
| 13 | "Section 9. Boards of education. (1) There is a state board of education composed of the board of                 |
| 14 | regents of higher education and the board of public education. It is responsible for long-range planning, and for |
| 15 | coordinating and evaluating policies and programs for the state's educational systems. It shall submit unified    |
| 16 | budget requests. A tie vote at any meeting may be broken by the governor, who is an ex officio member of each     |
| 17 | component board.  |
| 18 | (2) (a) The government and control of the Montana university system is vested in a board of regents of            |
| 19 | higher education which shall have full power, responsibility, and authority to supervise, coordinate, manage and  |
| 20 | control the Montana university system and shall supervise and coordinate other public educational institutions    |
| 21 | assigned by law.  |
| 22 | (b) The board consists of seven members appointed by the governor, and confirmed by the senate, to                |
| 23 | overlapping terms, as provided by law. The governor and superintendent of public instruction are ex officio       |
| 24 | non-voting members of the board.  |
| 25 | (c) The board shall appoint a commissioner of higher education and prescribe his term and duties.                 |
| 26 | (d) The funds and appropriations under the control of the board of regents are subject to the same audit          |
| 27 | provisions as are all other state funds.  |
| 28 | (3) (a) There is a board of public education to exercise general supervision over the public school system        |
| 29 | and such other public educational institutions as may be assigned by law. Other duties of the board shall be      |
| 30 | provided by law.  |
|    | Legislative   Services -1 -   Division  |

64th Legislature

| 1  | (b) The board consists of seven members appointed by the governor, and confirmed by the senate,                      | to        |
|----|--|-----------|
| 2  | overlapping terms elected who must be qualified electors of the district from which they are elected, wit            | <u>[H</u> |
| 3  | EACH MEMBER ELECTED FROM A SEPARATE DISTRICT OF THE STATE as provided by law. The governor, commission               | er        |
| 4  | of higher education and state superintendent of public instruction shall be ex officio non-voting members of th      | ne        |
| 5  | board.   |           |
| 6  | (C) THE SEVEN DISTRICTS ARE:   |           |
| 7  | (I) 1ST DISTRICT: FLATHEAD, LAKE, LINCOLN, MINERAL, AND SANDERS COUNTIES;  |           |
| 8  | (II) 2ND DISTRICT: GRANITE, MISSOULA, POWELL, AND RAVALLI COUNTIES;  |           |
| 9  | (III) 3RD DISTRICT: BEAVERHEAD, DEER LODGE, MADISON, AND SILVER BOW COUNTIES;  |           |
| 10 | (IV) 4TH DISTRICT: BROADWATER, GLACIER, JEFFERSON, LEWIS AND CLARK, PONDERA, AND TETON COUNTIE                       | S;        |
| 11 | (V) 5TH DISTRICT: BLAINE, CASCADE, CHOUTEAU, DANIELS, DAWSON, FERGUS, GARFIELD, HILL, JUDITH BASII                   | Ν,        |
| 12 | LIBERTY, MCCONE, MEAGHER, PETROLEUM, PHILLIPS, RICHLAND, ROOSEVELT, SHERIDAN, TOOLE, VALLEY, WHEATLAND               | D,        |
| 13 | AND WIBAUX COUNTIES;   |           |
| 14 | (VI) 6TH DISTRICT: GALLATIN, PARK, AND SWEET GRASS COUNTIES;   |           |
| 15 | (VII) 7TH DISTRICT: BIG HORN, CARBON, CARTER, CUSTER, FALLON, GOLDEN VALLEY, MUSSELSHELL, POWDE                      | <u>R</u>  |
| 16 | RIVER, PRAIRIE, ROSEBUD, STILLWATER, TREASURE, AND YELLOWSTONE COUNTIES."  |           |
| 17 |  |           |
| 18 | NEW SECTION. Section 2. Two-thirds vote required. Because [section 1] is a legislative propos                        | al        |
| 19 | to amend the constitution, Article XIV, section 8, of the Montana constitution requires an affirmative roll call vol | te        |
| 20 | of two-thirds of all the members of the legislature, whether one or more bodies, for passage.                        |           |
| 21 |  |           |
| 22 | NEW SECTION. Section 3. Effective date applicability. If approved by the electorate, th                              | is        |
| 23 | amendment is effective January 1, 2017, and applies to the election to be held in November 2018.                     |           |
| 24 |  |           |
| 25 | NEW SECTION. Section 4. Submission to electorate. [This act] shall be submitted to the qualified                     | эd        |
| 26 | electors of Montana at the general election to be held in November 2016 by printing on the ballot the full title     | of        |
| 27 | [this act] and the following:  |           |
| 28 | [] YES on Constitutional Amendment   |           |
| 29 | [] NO on Constitutional Amendment  |           |
| 30 | - END -  |           |
|    |  |           |



Authorized Print Version - SB 275