## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H HOUSE BILL 1158

Short Title:	Municipal Tax Certification. (Local)
Sponsors:	Representatives Barnes and Gailliard (Primary Sponsors).  For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.
Referred to:	State and Local Government, if favorable, Finance, if favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House

May 19, 2020

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO HELP MUNICIPALITIES COLLECT DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:

## "§ 161-31. Tax certification.

- (a) Tax Certification. The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. all of the following:
  - (1) That no delinquent ad valorem county taxes are a lien on the property described in the deed.
  - That no delinquent ad valorem municipal taxes are a lien on the property described in the deed. If a county tax collector is not charged with collecting ad valorem municipal taxes for a municipality in the county, then the resolution shall direct how the county tax collector is to receive the certification from the tax collector charged with collecting ad valorem municipal taxes.
  - (3) That no other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed.

The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.

- (b) Applicability. This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Robeson, Rockingham,



- 1 Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell,
- 2 Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties."
- 3 **SECTION 2.** This act applies to Edgecombe, Franklin, and Nash Counties only.
- 4 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.