GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H.B. 503 Mar 27, 2019 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

H
HOUSE BILL DRH40243-LU-39D

Short Title: Stagger Terms/County Commissioners/Wake Co. (Local)

Sponsors: Representatives Gill, Holley, and Martin (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO STAGGER THE TERMS OF MEMBERS OF THE WAKE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

 SECTION 1. Section 4 of Chapter 983 of the 1981 Session Laws, as amended by Board Resolution adopted on June 6, 2011, Section 1 of S.L. 2011-126, S.L. 2015-4, *Raleigh Wake Citizens Association, et al.*, v. Wake County Board of Elections, et al., Court Order 5:15-CV-00156-D, Document 104, dated August 9, 2016, and *Raleigh Wake Citizens Association, et al.*, v. Wake County Board of Elections, et al., Consent Decree 5:15-CV-00156-D, Document 129, dated December 28, 2017, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 4. (a). Beginning with the 2018 elections for the Wake County Board of Commissioners and continuing until the North Carolina General Assembly shall duly adopt a constitutional redistricting plan, but no later than the return of the 2020 decennial census, the Wake County Board of Elections shall conduct primary and general elections for the Board of Commissioners using the 2011 redistricting plan that was used in the 2014 and 2016 Wake County Board of Commissioners elections.

In 2018, candidates for the Board of Commissioners will run in residency districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. Candidates will be elected countywide in partisan elections in accordance with the election schedule for primary and general elections provided in North Carolina General Statute § 163–1. Candidates for Board of Commissioners shall file notices for candidacy with the Wake County Board of Elections in accordance with the filing period for primary elections.

The elected candidates for Board of Commissioners from the seven residency districts will serve two-year terms. The General Assembly retains discretion to extend the terms of office of any incumbent elected to the Board of Commissioners. The Wake County Board of Commissioners shall consist of seven members who are elected to represent residency districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. In 2020, seven commissioners shall be elected to serve on the Wake County Board of Commissioners. The candidates elected in Districts 1, 3, 5, and 7 shall each serve a four-year term. The candidates elected in Districts 2, 4, and 6 shall each serve a two-year term. In 2022, and quadrennially thereafter, three commissioners who represent residency districts 2, 4, and 6 shall be elected to each serve a four-year term. In 2024, and quadrennially thereafter, four commissioners who represent residency districts 1, 3, 5, and 7 shall be elected to each serve a four-year term."

SECTION 2. S.L. 2015-4 is repealed.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

