Bill Text: NY A02225 | 2019-2020 | General Assembly | Amended

Bill Title: Includes the Sawkill Creek in Ulster county within the definition of "inland waterways" for the purposes of waterfront revitalization.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 2-0)

Status: (Engrossed) 2019-05-20 - REFERRED TO ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION [A02225 Detail]

Download: New_York-2019-A02225-Amended.html

                STATE OF NEW YORK
                               2019-2020 Regular Sessions
                   IN ASSEMBLY
                                    January 22, 2019
        Introduced by M. of A. CAHILL -- read once and referred to the Committee
          on  Environmental  Conservation -- committee discharged, bill amended,
          ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted to said committee
        AN ACT to amend the executive law, in relation to including the  Sawkill
          Creek in Ulster county within the definition of "inland waterways" for
          the purposes of waterfront revitalization
          The  People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assem-
        bly, do enact as follows:
     1    Section 1. Subdivision 4 of section 911 of the executive law, as sepa-
     2  rately amended by chapters 43 and 255 of the laws of 2017, paragraph (a)
     3  as separately amended by chapters 133, 135, 140, 153, 234, 265, 268, 485
     4  and 499 of the laws of 2018, paragraph (b) as amended by chapter 499  of
     5  the  laws  of  2018, and paragraph (c) as separately amended by chapters
     6  131, 140, 232 and 502 of the  laws  of  2018,  is  amended  to  read  as
     7  follows:
     8    4.  "Inland  waterways"  shall mean (a) the state's major inland lakes
     9  consisting of lakes Baldwin,  Ballston,  Big  Tupper,  Black,  Campfire,
    10  Canadarago,  Canandaigua, Carmel, Cazenovia, Cayuga, Champlain, Charles,
    11  Chateaugay, Chautauqua, Chazy, Conesus, Cranberry, East Caroga,  Dickie-
    12  busch,  Echo  (in  the  county  of Westchester), George, Glencoma, Great
    13  Sacandaga, Honeoye, Indian, Katonah, Kentwood, Keuka, Kitchawan,  Little
    14  Wolf (in the county of Franklin), Lincolndale, Long, Lost (in the county
    15  of  Putnam),  Meahagh,  Mirror,  MacGregor,  Mahopac,  Minerva, Mohegan,
    16  Nimham, Neatahwanta, Northville,  Oceola,  Oneida,  Onondaga,  Oscaleta,
    17  Ossi,  Otisco,  Otsego,  Owasco,  Palmer, Peach, Placid, Purdys, Putnam,
    18  Raquette, Rippowam, Ronkonkoma,  Round,  Sacandaga,  Saratoga,  Schroon,
    19  Secor,  Seneca,  Shenorock,  Skaneateles, Silver (in the county of Wyom-
    20  ing), Sagamore, Saranac, Seven Hills, Tibet, Tonetta,  Teakettle  Spout,
    21  Truesdale,  Waccabuc,  West  Caroga  and  Wixon, Simon (in the county of
    22  Franklin) and the Fulton chain of lakes; (b) the  state's  major  rivers
    23  comprised  of  the Allegheny, Ausable, Battenkill, Black, Boquet, Bronx,
         EXPLANATION--Matter in italics (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
                              [ ] is old law to be omitted.

        A. 2225--A                          2
     1  Canisteo, Chaumont (including Chaumont bay), Chemung,  Chenango,  Cohoc-
     2  ton,  Delaware, Deer, Genesee, Grasse, Great Chazy, Hoosic, Hudson north
     3  of the federal dam at Troy, Indian, Little  (in  the  Adirondack  park),
     4  Little Ausable, Little Salmon (including north and south branches), Mad,
     5  Mettowee,  Mohawk, Oswegatchie, Oswego, Pocantico, Racquette, Sacandaga,
     6  Salmon, Saranac, Saw Mill, Schroon, Susquehanna, Tenmile, Tioga, Tiough-
     7  nioga, Wallkill and Buffalo rivers, and the north and middle branches of
     8  the Moose river; (c) the state's major creeks comprised of the  18  Mile
     9  Creek  located  in Erie county, Chittenango Creek, Bash Bish and Kinder-
    10  hook Creek located in Columbia county, Kinderhook Creek located in Rens-
    11  selaer county, Basher Kill, Bushkill, Cattaraugus, Cayadutta,  Cincinna-
    12  ti,  East  Kill,  Esopus  (including  upper  and  lower  branches), Fish
    13  (including east and west branches), Gooseberry, Great Valley, Kennyetto,
    14  Little Sandy, Onondaga, Peekskill Hollow, Roeliff Jansen Kill,  Rondout,
    15  Sandy,  Schoharie,  Shawangunk Kill, South Sandy, Oatka, Tonawanda, West
    16  Kill, Scajaquada, Wappinger, Webatuck, Wassaic, Black Creek  located  in
    17  Monroe  county,  Black  Creek  located  in Genesee and Wyoming counties,
    18  Ellicott Creek located in Erie county, Wynantskill, Claverack,  Taghkan-
    19  ic,  Agawamuck,  Wyomanock, and Ley Creek and Butternut Creek located in
    20  Onondaga county, [and] Nanticoke and Sawkill (in Ulster county); (d) the
    21  Barge Canal System as defined in section two of the canal law;  and  (e)
    22  the  adjacent shorelands to the extent that such inland waters and adja-
    23  cent lands are strongly influenced by  each  other  including,  but  not
    24  limited  to, islands, wetlands, beaches, dunes, barrier islands, cliffs,
    25  bluffs and erosion prone areas.
    26    § 2. This act shall take effect immediately.