As Adopted by the Senate

135th General Assembly Regular Session 2023-2024

Sub. H. C. R. No. 6

Representatives King, Plummer

Cosponsors: Representatives Lightbody, Creech, Sweeney, Abrams, Barhorst, Brennan, Click, Dell'Aquila, Demetriou, Dobos, Edwards, Forhan, Galonski, Ghanbari, Grim, Gross, Hall, Hillyer, Hoops, Humphrey, Isaacsohn, John, Johnson, Jones, Kick, Lear, Liston, Lorenz, Manning, Mathews, Miller, A., Miller, J., Mohamed, Oelslager, Peterson, Ray, Robb Blasdel, Russo, Schmidt, Seitz, Somani, Troy, White, Williams, Young, T.

Senators Antonio, Brenner, Cirino, Craig, DeMora, Dolan, Gavarone, Hicks-Hudson, Huffman, S., Ingram, Johnson, Kunze, Landis, Manning, O'Brien, Reineke, Reynolds, Roegner, Romanchuk, Schaffer, Smith, Sykes, Wilkin

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge Congress to repeal the Windfall Elimination 1

Provision and the Government Pension Offset. 2

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Windfall Elimination Provision was enacted in	3
1983 to equalize the earned Social Security benefits of workers	4
who spend part of their careers in exempt public service and	5
workers who spend their entire careers participating in Social	6
Security; and	7
WHEREAS, The Windfall Elimination Provision reduces the	8
Social Security benefits of public servants who receive a	9
pension for public service that was not subject to Social	10
Security taxes; and	11

recipients; and

WHEREAS, Members of the 118th United States Congress have

introduced legislation to repeal the Windfall Elimination

Provision and the Government Pension Offset; now therefore be it

32

33

34

35

36

37

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 135th General
Assembly of the State of Ohio, in adopting this resolution, urge
the Congress of the United States to repeal the Windfall
Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset; and be
it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives

transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the

President Pro Tempore and Secretary of the United States Senate,

the Speaker and Clerk of the United States House of

Representatives, the members of the Ohio Congressional

42

delegation, and the news media of Ohio.

43