1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 56th Legislature (2017)
3	CONFERENCE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
4	FOR ENGROSSED
5	
6	and
7	Dahm of the Senate
8	
9	CONFERENCE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
10	An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011,
11	Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court; clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court
12	Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices retain office and are eligible for retention;
13	amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of Criminal Appeals indicial districts, providing that
14	Criminal Appeals judicial districts; providing that current Judges retain office and are eligible for
15	retention; and providing an effective date.
16	
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
18	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is
19	amended to read as follows:
20	Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices
21	<u>Justices</u> . Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act $_r$
22	the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the
23	Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four
24	additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of

1	whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each
2	Justice in office on November 1, 2017, shall serve the term for
3	which the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention
4	ballot and until his or her successor is elected appointed and
5	qualified, unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of
6	his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any
7	Justice in office on November 1, 2017, shall be eligible for
8	retention in the same office for succeeding terms.
9	SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is
10	amended to read as follows:
11	Section 2. The Beginning November 1, 2017:
12	<u>1.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and
13	include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers,
14	Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No.
15	2 as constituted on November 1, 2017;
16	The <u>2.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and
17	include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg,
18	Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston,
19	Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district;
20	The <u>3.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and
21	include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No.
22	5 as constituted on November 1, 2017;
23	The <u>4.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and
24	include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis,

Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa,
 Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional

3 District No. 3 as constituted on November 1, 2017;

The <u>5.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and
include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Carvin, Murray,
Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District
No. 4 as constituted on November 1, 2017;

8 The <u>6.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and 9 include the following county: Tulsa. <u>Congressional District No. 1</u> 10 as constituted on November 1, 2017;

11 The <u>7.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and 12 include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner, 13 Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. <u>be an at-large district;</u>

14The 8.Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall embrace and15include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes,16Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an at-

17 large district; and

The <u>9.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall embrace and
 include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon,
 Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian <u>be an at-large district</u>.
 SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is

22 amended to read as follows:

23 Section 33. <u>A.</u> The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court 24 of Criminal Appeals judicial districts <u>Judicial Districts</u>. From each of said districts candidates for Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified voters of the state at-large.

B. Beginning November 1, 2017, the boundaries of the Court of
Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the
five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on November 1,
2017, as follows:

12 <u>1.</u> The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall 13 embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes, 14 Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. <u>Congressional District</u> 15 No. 1;

2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall
 embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee,
 Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee,
 Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington.
 Congressional District No. 3;

<u>3.</u> The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall
 embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter,
 Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston,
 Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh,

Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and
 Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;

3	4. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall
4	embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma.
5	Congressional District No. 5; and
6	5. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall
7	embrace and include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo,
8	Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant,
9	Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger
10	Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional
11	District No. 4.
12	C. Each Judge in office on November 1, 2017, shall serve the
13	term for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by
14	retention ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and
15	qualified, unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of
16	his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any
17	Judge in office on November 1, 2017, shall be eligible for retention
18	in the same office for succeeding terms.
19	SECTION 4. This act shall become effective November 1, 2017.
20	
21	56-1-8053 SD 05/20/17
22	
23	
24	