1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	2nd Session of the 56th Legislature (2018)
3	2ND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE
4	SUBSTITUTE FOR ENGROSSED
5	HOUSE BILL NO. 1925 By: Kannady and Downing of the House
6	and
7	Dahm of the Senate
8	
9	
10	2ND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
11	An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court;
12	clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices
13	retain office and are eligible for retention; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to
14	the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of Criminal Appeals judicial districts; providing that
15	current Judges retain office and are eligible for retention; and providing an effective date.
16	recention, and providing an effective date.
17	
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
19	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is
20	amended to read as follows:
21	Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices
22	Justices. Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act,
23	the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the
24	Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four

1	additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of
2	whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each
3	Justice in office on January 8, 2019, shall serve the term for which
4	the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot
5	and until his <u>or her</u> successor is elected <u>appointed</u> and qualified <u>,</u>
6	unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of his or her
7	term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Justice in
8	office on January 8, 2019, shall be eligible for retention in the
9	same office for succeeding terms.
10	SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is
11	amended to read as follows:
12	Section 2. The Beginning January 8, 2019:
13	1. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and
14	include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers,
15	Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No.
16	2 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
17	The 2. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and
18	include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg,
19	Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston,
20	Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district;
21	The <u>3.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and
22	include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No.
23	5 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
24	

Req. No. 10216

1	The <u>4.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and
2	include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis,
3	Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa,
4	Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional
5	District No. 3 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
6	The <u>5.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and
7	include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray,
8	Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District
9	No. 4 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
10	The <u>6.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and
11	include the following county: Tulsa. Congressional District No. 1
12	as constituted on January 8, 2019;
13	The 7. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and
14	include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner,
15	Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. be an at-large district;
16	The <u>8.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall embrace and
17	include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes,
18	Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an at-
19	large district; and
20	The <u>9.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall embrace and
21	include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon,
22	Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian be an at-large district.
23	SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is
24	amended to read as follows:

Req. No. 10216

1	Section 33. <u>A.</u> The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court
2	of Criminal Appeals judicial districts <u>Judicial Districts</u> . From
З	each of said districts candidates for Judge of the Court of Criminal
4	Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by
5	Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court
6	of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the
7	provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma
8	Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified
9	voters of the state at-large.
10	B. Beginning January 8, 2019, the boundaries of the Court of
11	Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the
12	five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on January 8,
13	2019, as follows:
14	1. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall
15	embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes,
16	Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. Congressional District
17	<u>No. 1;</u>
18	2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall
19	embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee,
20	Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee,
21	Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington.
22	Congressional District No. 3;
23	3. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall
24	embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter,

Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston,
 Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh,
 Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and
 Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;

5 <u>4.</u> The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall 6 embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma. 7 Congressional District No. 5; and

5. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall
embrace and include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo,
Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Carfield, Grant,
Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger
Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional
District No. 4.

14 C. Each Judge in office on January 8, 2019, shall serve the 15 term for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by 16 retention ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and 17 qualified, unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of 18 his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any 19 Judge in office on January 8, 2019, shall be eligible for retention 20 in the same office for succeeding terms. 21 SECTION 4. This act shall become effective January 8, 2019. 22

23 56-2-10216 SD 03/20/18

24