2 3 нс	1st Session of the 57th Legislature (2019)
3 нс	
	DUSE BILL 2482 By: McCall
4	
5	
6	AS INTRODUCED
7	An Act relating to the Department of Transportation;
8	amending 69 O.S. 2011, Sections 302 and 305, which relate to transportation; modifying appointment of
9	members of the Transportation Commission; authorizing Governor to appoint the Director of the Department of
10	Transportation; and declaring an emergency.
11	
12	
13 BE	E IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
14	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 69 O.S. 2011, Section 302, is
15 am	mended to read as follows:
16	Section 302. (a) A. The State Transportation Commission shall
17 cc	onsist of one (1) member from each of eight districts of the state,
18 su	ich districts to serve as the maintenance districts and to include
19 th	ne area as follows:
20	District 1. Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Sequoyah, Muskogee,
21 Ok	kmulgee, McIntosh and Haskell Counties.
22	District 2. Pittsburg, Latimer, LeFlore, McCurtain, Pushmataha,
23 At	toka, Choctaw, Bryan and Marshall Counties.
24	

Req. No. 6597

1	District 3. Lincoln, Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Pottawatomie,
2	Okfuskee, Seminole, Hughes, Pontotoc, Coal and Johnston Counties.
3	District 4. Payne, Logan, Canadian, Kingfisher, Garfield,
4	Grant, Kay, Noble and Oklahoma Counties.
5	District 5. Roger Mills, Dewey, Custer, Washita, Beckham,
6	Greer, Kiowa, Harmon, Jackson, Blaine, and Tillman Counties.
7	District 6. Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woods, Alfalfa,
8	Ellis, Major and Woodward Counties.
9	District 7. Carter, Love, Murray, Grady, Comanche, Stephens,
10	Cotton, Caddo and Jefferson Counties.
11	District 8. Osage, Pawnee, Nowata, Creek, Craig, Ottawa,
12	Rogers, Mayes, Delaware, Washington and Tulsa Counties.
13	(b) The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the
14	Governor, by and with the consent of the Senate, such appointment to
15	have full force and effect and to be submitted to the Senate for its
16	confirmation at the first session of the Senate after such
17	appointment is made. No Commissioner shall be entitled to the
18	payment of salary, or to perform any service, until his appointment
19	is confirmed by the Senate, if the Senate then be in session; if the
20	Senate be not in session, then such Commissioner may serve and draw
21	his salary until a special or regular session convenes; and if his
22	appointment is not then confirmed within twenty (20) days, he shall
23	cease to perform such services and cease to draw his salary. Each
24	of the Commissioners thus appointed shall, at the time of his

1	appointment, be a citizen and resident of the district for which he
2	shall have been appointed for at least three (3) years prior to the
3	date of his appointment. Not more than one Commissioner shall
4	reside in any one district, as defined herein, at any time while
5	serving on the Commission. Each Commissioner thus appointed and
6	confirmed shall, after the first term of office as herein provided,
7	serve for a term of eight (8) years, and unless he is reappointed by
8	the Governor and confirmed by the Senate within twenty (20)
9	legislative days his services are automatically terminated and he
10	shall cease to draw his salary, or any perquisites or emoluments as
11	a Commissioner; provided, that in the event the Governor's appointee
12	is not confirmed by the Senate within ten (10) days from the date
13	his name is submitted, then the Governor shall submit a further
14	appointce for confirmation; and during his term of office may be
15	removed by the Governor at his pleasure. The terms of office shall
16	be as follows: Two Commissioners shall serve until the 15th day of
17	February, 1969; two Commissioners shall serve until the 15th day of
18	February, 1971; two Commissioners shall serve until the 15th day of
19	February, 1973; and two Commissioners shall serve until the 15th day
20	of February, 1975; and the Governor, at the time of making the first
21	appointment, shall, in his order of appointment, designate the term
22	each Commissioner so appointed shall serve. Thereafter the term of
23	each Commissioner appointed and confirmed shall expire the 15th day
24	of February in the eighth year after his appointment, and in case of

1	death, resignation, or removal, the place shall be filled by
2	appointment by the Governor for the remainder of the term. Such
3	appointments also shall be confirmed by the Senate. The members of
4	the Commission each shall receive an annual salary of Four Thousand
5	Eight Hundred Dollars (\$4,800.00), payable monthly, and each shall
6	be entitled to receive travel expenses pursuant to the State Travel
7	Reimbursement Act, Section 500.1 et seq. of Title 74 of the Oklahoma
8	Statutes the following eight (8) members:
9	1. Four members appointed by the Governor, with the advice and
10	consent of the House of Representatives and the Senate;
11	2. Two members appointed by the Speaker of the House of
12	Representatives; and
13	3. Two members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the
14	Senate.
15	B. Each member shall serve at the pleasure of his or her
16	appointing authority and may be removed or replaced without cause.
17	The Governor Director of the Department of Transportation shall be
18	an ex officio member of the Commission, but shall be entitled to
19	vote only in case of a tie vote.
20	(c) Provided, that persons serving as members of the State
21	Highway Commission created by Section 301 of this title, when this
22	Code becomes effective shall serve as members of the State
23	Transportation Commission created by this Code for the remainder of
24	the terms for which they were appointed, in the positions on the

1 latter Commission having corresponding terms of office, or until 2 such positions are filled as herein provided. Future Gubernatorial 3 appointments shall be made from districts as directed by this act. 4 SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 69 O.S. 2011, Section 305, is 5 amended to read as follows: 6 Section 305. There is hereby created the office of the Director 7 of the Department of Transportation, who shall be elected by a majority vote of the entire Commission appointed by the Governor, 8 9 and who shall serve at the pleasure of the Commission. The Director 10 shall receive an annual salary to be fixed by a majority vote of the 11 entire Commission from appropriations made by the Legislature 12 Governor and may be removed or replaced without cause. Compensation 13 for the Director shall be determined pursuant to Section 3601.2 of 14 Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes. 15 SECTION 3. It being immediately necessary for the preservation 16 of the public peace, health or safety, an emergency is hereby 17 declared to exist, by reason whereof this act shall take effect and 18 be in full force from and after its passage and approval. 19 20 57-1-6597 LRB 01/17/19 21 22 23 24