STATE OF OKLAHOMA

1st Session of the 57th Legislature (2019)

SENATE BILL 10

By: McCortney

AS INTRODUCED

An Act relating to the Oklahoma Department of Corrections; amending 57 O.S. 2011, Section 509, as last amended by Section 2, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2016 (57 O.S. Supp. 2018, Section 509), which relates to penal institutions; clarifying language; and providing an effective date.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:

SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 57 O.S. 2011, Section 509, as last amended by Section 2, Chapter 259, O.S.L. 2016 (57 O.S. Supp. 2018, Section 509), is amended to read as follows:

Section 509. The Oklahoma State Penitentiary shall be located at McAlester in Pittsburg County, State of Oklahoma; and the Oklahoma State Reformatory shall be located at Granite in Greer County, State of Oklahoma; and the Lexington Assessment and Reception Center shall be located at Lexington in Cleveland County, State of Oklahoma; and the Jackie Brannon Correctional Center shall be located at McAlester in Pittsburg County, State of Oklahoma; and the Joseph Harp Correctional Center shall be located at Lexington in Cleveland County, State of Oklahoma; and the Howard C. McLeod Correctional Center shall be located at Farris in Atoka County, State of Oklahoma; and the Mack H. Alford Correctional Center shall be located at Stringtown in Atoka County, State of Oklahoma; and the Jim E. Hamilton Correctional Center shall be located at Hodgen in LeFlore County, State of Oklahoma; and the Mabel Bassett Correctional Center shall be located at McLoud, in Pottawatomie County, State of Oklahoma; and the R.B. "Dick" Conner Correctional Center shall be located at Hominy in Osage County, State of Oklahoma; and the James Crabtree Correctional Center shall be located at Helena in Alfalfa County, State of Oklahoma; and the Jess Dunn Correctional Center shall be located at Taft in Muskogee County, State of Oklahoma; and the Northeast Oklahoma Correctional Center shall be located at Vinita in Craig County, State of Oklahoma; and the John Lilley Correctional Center shall be located at Boley in Okfuskee County, State of Oklahoma; and the William S. Key Correctional Center shall be located at Fort Supply in Woodward County, State of Oklahoma; and the Dr. Eddie Walter Warrior Correctional Center shall be located at Taft in Muskogee County, State of Oklahoma; and the Clara Waters and Kate Barnard Community Corrections Centers shall be located at Oklahoma City in Oklahoma County, State of Oklahoma; and the Lawton Community Corrections Center shall be located at Lawton in Comanche County, State of Oklahoma; and the Enid Community Corrections Center shall be located at Enid in Garfield County, State of Oklahoma; and the Union City

Page 2

Community Corrections Center shall be located at Union City in Canadian County, State of Oklahoma; and the Charles E. "Bill" Johnson Correctional Center shall be located east of Alva in Woods County, State of Oklahoma; and the Southern Oklahoma Resource Center <u>Washita Valley Complex</u> shall be located at Pauls Valley in Garvin County, State of Oklahoma; and said institutions and community corrections centers are hereby established within the Department. Said Department shall be the legal successor of and, except as otherwise provided in the Oklahoma Corrections Act of 1967, shall have the powers and duties vested by law in the Office of Management and Enterprise Services in all matters relating to penal institutions, heretofore or hereafter established by the Department, which institutions and community corrections centers shall be under the administrative direction and control of the Department.

SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2019.

57-1-127 BHG 11/26/2018 11:08:27 AM