1	HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION
2	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
3	2nd Session of the 55th Legislature (2016)
4	ENGROSSED SENATE CONCURRENT
5	RESOLUTION NO. 38 By: Pittman, Allen, Anderson, Barrington, Bass, Bice,
6	Bingman, Boggs, Brecheen, Brooks, Brown, Crain, Dahm,
7	David, Dossett, Fields, Floyd, Ford, Fry, Garrison,
8	Griffin, Halligan, Holt, Jech, Jolley, Justice,
9	Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, Mazzei, Newberry,
10	Paddack, Quinn, Schulz, Sharp, Shaw, Shortey, Silk,
11	Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Subas, Thermson, Turast
12 13	Sykes, Thompson, Treat, Wyrick and Yen of the Senate
13	and
15	Young of the House
15	Toung of the nouse
10	A Concurrent Resolution congratulating the 2016 Class
17	4A Boys' Basketball state champions, the Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans; commending their hard
10	work and perseverance; and directing distribution.
20	
20	WHEREAS, Frederick A. Douglass High School was founded on
22	January 5, 1891, became an official high school in 1898, and held
23	its first graduation in 1903 with eight students; and

24

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma City Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans finished their 2016 basketball season with a 57-45 win over the Fort Gibson Tigers on March 12, 2016, at the State Fair Arena in Oklahoma City, clinching their team's sixth state title in seven years; and

6 WHEREAS, Oklahoma City's Frederick A. Douglass High School 7 Trojans led 18-10 coming out of the first quarter, but Fort Gibson 8 fought back to leave the Trojans with a 23-22 lead at half time; by 9 the end of the third quarter the Trojans had extended their lead to 10 45-32; and

11 WHEREAS, this victory was earned with determination and 12 perseverance as the Trojans fought their way back to the battle for 13 the gold ball, concluding their 2016 season with an impressive 14 record of 27-3; and

WHEREAS, after their 57-45 win against the Fort Gibson Tigers, the team is now turning its focus on earning another gold ball next year to add to their State Champion legacy, having earned nine OSSAA State Championships in 1984, 1986, 1989, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013,

19 2014 and now 2016; and

20 WHEREAS, Coryon Mason and Patrick McKaufman were named to the 21 Oklahoman's 4A All-Tournament team, while McKaufman was also named 22 as the Oklahoman's Class 4A Tournament Most Valuable Player, the 23 OBCA 4A Player of the Year as well as named to the OBCCA All State 24 team and OCA All State team; and

1 WHEREAS, the team is comprised of players, coaches and support 2 staff that are committed to excellence, including Head Coach Kendal 3 Cudjoe and Assistant Coaches Nathaniel Jones, Otis Moses and Lennon Anderson; and players Patrick McKaufman, J'Zajuan Cyrus, Jesse 4 5 Wilson, Rueban LaSarge, Andrew Williams, Taron Adamson, Delmon Mask, Rayontae Nelson, Ste'Tonio Horne, Coryon Mason, Day'Quann Ervin, 6 7 Treijon Edwards and Christopher Friday. Team managers Charity Shaw and Jada Taylor; Statistician Susan McKee; and videographers Charles 8 9 Tate, Nicholas Neely and William Shufflebottom are all part of 10 Frederick A. Douglass High School's legacy of excellence.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION
OF THE 55TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
CONCURRING THEREIN:

14 THAT the Oklahoma Legislature congratulates the 2016 Class 4A
15 Boys Basketball state champions, the Frederick A. Douglass High
16 School Trojans.

17 THAT the Oklahoma Legislature commends the team's many18 achievements and their hard work throughout the season.

19 THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Frederick A.20 Douglass Boys Basketball Head Coach, Kendal Cudjoe.

21

22 DIRECT TO CALENDAR.

- 23
- 24