Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 3

By: Boggs, Allen, Bass, Bergstrom, Bice, Brecheen, Brown, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Fields, Floyd, Fry, Griffin, Holt, Jech, Kidd, Leewright, Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, McCortney, Newberry, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pittman, Pugh, Quinn, Rader, Schulz, Scott, Sharp, Shaw, Shortey, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat and Yen

A Resolution congratulating the 2017 Class 3A Academic Team Champions, the Wilburton Diggers; applauding them for their state title; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, the Wilburton High School Academic Team earned its first state title as Class 3A State Champions on Saturday, February 4, 2017, at Redlands Community College, defeating the Warner Eagles 250 to 140; and

WHEREAS, the Wilburton Championship Academic Team was led by their coaches, Gordon Bockus and Lisa Baker, and was comprised of team Captain Roy Phipps and team members Colt Petty, Gloria Evans, Cody Johnston, Joe Dunagan, Gilles Goddard, James McCabe, Andrew Hawthorne, Stage Watkins, Gavin Sockey, Morgan Anderson and LaShan Jackson; and

WHEREAS, this year's championship victory is especially notable for retiring Coach Gordon Bockus, as he helped launch the Academic Bowl Competition more than three decades ago. Since that time, he has coached the high school team and remained active with the OSSAA and Oklahoma Academic Coaches Association, serving in various offices and capacities; and

WHEREAS, Oklahomans take great pride in the accomplishments of their school teams and the Wilburton Diggers Academic team has made their state, school and community proud by representing them with character, sportsmanship and academic excellence.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates the 2017 Class 3A Academic Team Champions, the Wilburton Diggers.

THAT the team should celebrate and be proud of the excellent accomplishments they have achieved.

THAT a copy of this Resolution be distributed to Wilburton High School Academic Team coaches, Gordon Bockus and Lisa Baker.

Adopted by the Senate the 27th day of February, 2017.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

	Received	bу	the	Office	of	the	Secretary	of	State	this	
day	of				20		, at		o'	clock	 Μ.
Ву:											