Enrolled House Bill 2605

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Judiciary)

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to the establishment of circuit court judge positions; creating new provisions; amending ORS 3.012; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 3.012 is amended to read:

- 3.012. (1) The judicial districts, the counties constituting the judicial districts and the number of circuit court judges for each judicial district are as follows:
 - (a) The first judicial district consists of Jackson County and has nine judges.
 - (b) The second judicial district consists of Lane County and has 15 judges.
 - (c) The third judicial district consists of Marion County and has 14 judges.
 - (d) The fourth judicial district consists of Multnomah County and has 38 judges.
 - (e) The fifth judicial district consists of Clackamas County and has 11 judges.
- (f) The sixth judicial district consists of the counties of Morrow and Umatilla and has five judges.
- (g) The seventh judicial district consists of the counties of Gilliam, Hood River, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler and has four judges.
 - (h) The eighth judicial district consists of Baker County and has one judge.
 - (i) The ninth judicial district consists of Malheur County and has two judges.
 - (j) The tenth judicial district consists of the counties of Union and Wallowa and has two judges.
 - (k) The eleventh judicial district consists of Deschutes County and has seven judges.
 - (L) The twelfth judicial district consists of Polk County and has three judges.
 - (m) The thirteenth judicial district consists of Klamath County and has five judges.
 - (n) The fourteenth judicial district consists of Josephine County and has [four] five judges.
 - (o) The fifteenth judicial district consists of the counties of Coos and Curry and has six judges.
 - (p) The sixteenth judicial district consists of Douglas County and has five judges.
 - (q) The seventeenth judicial district consists of Lincoln County and has three judges.
 - (r) The eighteenth judicial district consists of Clatsop County and has three judges.
 - (s) The nineteenth judicial district consists of Columbia County and has three judges.
 - (t) The twentieth judicial district consists of Washington County and has [14] 15 judges.
 - (u) The twenty-first judicial district consists of Benton County and has three judges.
- (v) The twenty-second judicial district consists of the counties of Crook and Jefferson and has three judges.
 - (w) The twenty-third judicial district consists of Linn County and has five judges.

- (x) The twenty-fourth judicial district consists of the counties of Grant and Harney and has one judge.
 - (y) The twenty-fifth judicial district consists of Yamhill County and has four judges.
 - (z) The twenty-sixth judicial district consists of Lake County and has one judge.
 - (aa) The twenty-seventh judicial district consists of Tillamook County and has two judges.
- (2) The Secretary of State shall designate position numbers equal to the number of judges in each of the judicial districts established by this section. The positions shall reflect any qualifications established by ORS 3.041.

SECTION 2. The amendments to ORS 3.012 by section 1 of this 2017 Act become operative on the first Monday in January 2019, except that the provisions for new circuit court judges are operative on the effective date of this 2017 Act for the purposes of nominating and electing new judges in 2017 and 2018 to assume the duties of the office on the first Monday in January 2019.

SECTION 3. In addition to and not in lieu of any other appropriation, there is appropriated to the Judicial Department, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2017, out of the General Fund, the amount of \$617,468, which may be expended to pay the salaries and benefits for the new judicial positions created by the amendments to ORS 3.012 by section 1 of this 2017 Act, the salaries and benefits for the support staff required for those positions and the cost of equipment and furnishings necessary for those positions.

<u>SECTION 4.</u> This 2017 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2017 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House June 30, 2017	Received by Governor:
	, 2017
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate July 5, 2017	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	, 2017
	Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State