Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 203

Sponsored by Senator JOHNSON, Representative WILLIAMSON; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BATES, BEYER, BOQUIST, BURDICK, CLOSE, COURTNEY, DEMBROW, DEVLIN, EDWARDS, FERRIOLI, GIROD, HANSELL, HASS, KNOPP, KRUSE, MONROE, OLSEN, ROBLAN, ROSENBAUM, SHIELDS, STEINER HAYWARD, THOMSEN, WHITSETT, WINTERS, Representatives BAILEY, BARKER, BOONE, BUCKLEY, DOHERTY, ESQUIVEL, FREDERICK, FREEMAN, GALLEGOS, GELSER, GORSEK, GREENLICK, HANNA, HUFFMAN, JENSON, KOMP, MCLANE, NATHANSON, READ, REARDON, RICHARDSON, SMITH WARNER, TOMEI, VEGA PEDERSON, WITT (Presession filed.)

Whereas Thomas Vaughan served as Executive Director of the Oregon Historical Society from 1954 to 1989; and

Whereas during those 35 years of service, Thomas Vaughan transformed the Oregon Historical Society into an internationally recognized institution that continues to play a significant role in the lives of Oregonians; and

Whereas Thomas Vaughan brought history into the lives of Oregonians through innovative exhibits, public programs and vibrant publications; and

Whereas Thomas Vaughan's leadership was instrumental in acquiring the largest collection of Oregon-related library and museum materials in the world for the Oregon Historical Society; and

Whereas Thomas Vaughan served Oregon by personally reminding Oregonians of their history and the need to preserve that history; and

Whereas Thomas Vaughan was declared Historian Laureate of Oregon by the Legislative Assembly in 1989; and

Whereas Thomas Vaughan passed away on December 6, 2013, at the age of 89; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly, express our appreciation for the life of Thomas Vaughan and the countless contributions he made to the history and culture of this state; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be presented to the Oregon Historical Society for display in the Oregon History Museum and to Thomas Vaughan's four children, Meagan Vaughan Becker, Margot Riordan-Eva, Cameron Vaughan-Tyler and Stephen Vaughan.

 Adopted by Senate February 18, 2014
Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House February 28, 2014
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House