THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 481

Session of 2015

INTRODUCED BY MACKENZIE, ACOSTA, BAKER, BISHOP, BOBACK,
R. BROWN, V. BROWN, BURNS, CALTAGIRONE, COHEN, CORBIN,
D. COSTA, SCHLEGEL CULVER, DAVIDSON, DAVIS, DAY, DIGIROLAMO,
DONATUCCI, DRISCOLL, DUSH, FARINA, FARRY, GIBBONS, GILLEN,
GINGRICH, GOODMAN, GROVE, HAHN, A. HARRIS, HENNESSEY,
PHILLIPS-HILL, IRVIN, JOZWIAK, KIM, KINSEY, KIRKLAND, KLUNK,
LONGIETTI, MAHONEY, MAJOR, MARSICO, MCNEILL, MENTZER,
MILLARD, MURT, O'BRIEN, O'NEILL, C. PARKER, PAYNE, PEIFER,
PETRI, PICKETT, READSHAW, ROEBUCK, ROSS, ROZZI, SANKEY,
SCHLOSSBERG, SCHWEYER, SNYDER, SONNEY, STAATS, THOMAS, WARD,
WATSON, WHEELAND AND WHITE, SEPTEMBER 18, 2015

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, SEPTEMBER 18, 2015

A RESOLUTION

- Recognizing the United States Women's National Team for winning the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.
- 3 WHEREAS, On July 5, 2015, the U.S. Women's National Team
- 4 defeated Japan by a score of 5-2, winning the FIFA Women's World
- 5 Cup; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The win was the third Women's World Cup title for
- 7 the United States; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The U.S. Women's National Team previously won the
- 9 World Cup in 1991 and 1999; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The U.S. Women's National Team is the first team to
- 11 win three Women's World Cup titles; and
- 12 WHEREAS, With their third title, the team members are now the
- 13 only players in the world with three stars on their jerseys to

- 1 represent the team's three titles; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The U.S. Women's National Team inspired our country
- 3 and appropriately used the slogan "One Nation. One Team." as the
- 4 team advanced through the tournament and won the title;
- 5 therefore be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the
- 7 United States Women's National Team for winning the 2015 FIFA
- 8 Women's World Cup.