

## 2020 South Dakota Legislature House Bill 1021 ENROLLED

AN ACT

## ENTITLED An Act to revise certain provisions regarding the South Dakota Lottery Commission.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

Section 1. That § 42-7A-17 be AMENDED:

## 42-7A-17. Lottery Commission created--Appointment of members--Term of office--Qualifications--Chair.

There is created the South Dakota Lottery Commission, which is composed of five members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the senate. The term of office is three years, expiring on January first with no more than two appointments expiring in any one year. No member may be appointed to more than two consecutive terms. Each member of the commission shall be a citizen of the United States and a resident of this state, not all of whom may be of the same political party. A chair of the commission shall be chosen annually from the membership of the commission by a majority of commission members at the first meeting of the commission each fiscal year. An Act to revise certain provisions regarding the South Dakota Lottery Commission.

| I certify that the attached Act originated in<br>the:<br>House as Bill No. 1021 | Received at this Executive Office<br>this day of,<br>2020 atM.     |
|---|--|
| Chief Clerk   | By for the Governor  |
| Speaker of the House  | The attached Act is hereby<br>approved this day of<br>, A.D., 2020 |
| Chief Clerk   | Governor<br>STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,<br>SS.                          |
| President of the Senate Attest:   | Office of the Secretary of State<br>Filed, 2020<br>at o'clockM.    |
| Secretary of the SenateSenate   | Secretary of State   |
| House Bill No. <u>1021</u><br>File No<br>Chapter No                             | By Asst. Secretary of State  |